Disturbed Yeast

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seewhymit

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

So I will start off by stating the obvious, that I am new to homebrew. I did as much research as I could prior to buying my homebrew kit and thought I would be fine, but as probably is the case with most beginners, I need a helping hand!

I put my first batch of homebrew together this weekend (Saturday around Midday) and all was going well. I placed the fermenter in a cupboard in my kitchen and left it till the next day. It was fermenting fine, the airlock was bubbling away, but unfortunately I hadn't thought about the smell it would produce and this soon became a little overwhelming for my wife and I.

I had to move the fermenter to a secure metal box we have in our apartment car park. I carefully moved the 30L fermenter barrel down to the carpark and lifted it into the metal storage box. At this stage I topped up the airlock, but accidentally put a little too much into it. I carefully pulled off the airlock (and quickly placed my finger over the grommet/hole as I drained some of the liquid from my airlock. I then replaced it. This all occurred on Sunday arvo (around 4pm).

Since this time, it doesn't appear that the yeast is active anymore. I can no longer see the airlock bubbling away as it should/would. I am just wondering on if my moving the fermenter has killed my first batch or if one of the other factors has.

The temperature of the fermenter whilst it was in my appartment (for the first 28 hours) was at around 24*C~26*C. The temperature in the secure storage box in my garage is at around 20*C~22*C.

The beer I am trying to brew is a dry lager (similar to extra dry) and I used the following recipe;