Dan's Bar Project

danman

so ive convinced the boss its cheaper for me to stay at home and drink my homebrew and in doing so ive embarked on a project that im sure you have all undertaken.
im makin my own bar :beer:
now this sees me very excited so im gunna post pics as i go along if anyones interested :)
ive started with a chest freezer and am planning on putting this
bar_in_progress_008.jpg
piece of Ironbark slab ontop and surrounding the freezer in micro-galv iron
spent the past two days sanding to get to here
bar_in_progress_009.jpg

#edit-sorry for this wasted post#

Attachments

• bar_in_progress_005.jpg
    bar_in_progress_005.jpg
    215.1 KB
very nice bit of timber there - being ironbark it must weigh a tonne.

Fair warining, if you're going for a flip-top bar on a chest freezer design, it could be very heavy to lift. I have a four-tap flooded on a chest freezer, with the bar-top hinged to get access to the kegs and lines etc. with just a ply top it can be quite heavy...

Nice piece of lumber indeed.
Love the L shape in the end too. That is where my bar stool would be placed :p

yes forkboy it does weigh a tonne,in the design ive included two gas struts to aid in the lifting of the lid with the fonts and driptray adding extra weight.the slab is 1 inch thick and takes two people to move it.

once the project is finished there will be an endless supply of invites to all travelling past my house,just bring a story and a glass :beer:

more pics soon
cheers,dan

more pics
spent the morning at work welding the frame then the arvo at home cutting the MDF and fitting the castors
not long now till the slab goes onto the lid of the freezer and fonts get added
then some micro galv for the front and sides and shes almost done
ram___shackle_brewhaus_002.jpg
ram___shackle_brewhaus_010.jpg
two of said fonts waiting for another cobra style to join them
ram___shackle_brewhaus_011.jpg

cheers,dan

had some taps rock up the other day from Ross at Craftbrewer
got a skilled mate of mine to make up some adapters on his CNC machine and now i have celli taps mounted to a font :super:

ram___shackle_brewhaus_026.jpg

cant help but be a little excited about how my slow project is going to end up

ram___shackle_brewhaus_022.jpg

had some taps rock up the other day from Ross at Craftbrewer
got a skilled mate of mine to make up some adapters on his CNC machine and now i have celli taps mounted to a font :super:

Classy! :beerbang:

some more pics,man im so excited about how this baby is coming together!
ram___shackle_brewhaus_045.jpg

the colours that have come out of the ironbark slab are amazing

ram___shackle_brewhaus_043.jpg

with a bit of micro galv around the frame she will be the envy of the town!

ram___shackle_brewhaus_047.jpg

wow, danman, that looks absolutely beautyful, thats a kind of gem.

That piece of wood you couldnt pay for here in G. The composition of the also beautyful taps (some of them are Celli taps?) with that superb red wood bar is absolutely classic.

youre a lucky guy

cheers mate :icon_cheers:

thanks for your comments zwickel,yes the gold taps are the celli taps with the flow restricters and the tap on the far right connected to the cobra font is also a celli tap-globus style. this pic should give you a better view of the globus.

ram___shackle_brewhaus_048.jpg

if i could source them in aus i was hoping to have all globus style celli taps but the flow restricters in the gold taps is a definate advantage to keep the hoses short as possible in the chest freezer as running 5 kegs means lots of spaghetti hoses everywhere

cheers,dan

Looking superb mate - Your job on those tap adaptors is awesome
& the bar's fantastic. :super:

What happened to the bit with the big Y shaped drunken owner recess in it ?

had to remove the Y piece browndog so i could have a nice flat rear section at the back. pure aesthetics really-and the finance minister thought while im playin with me wood a coffee table would be a great idea. gotta keep the boss happy aye? the plan is for the bar to be close to the wall of the shed/pub with a plasma panel mounted behind it to watch the footy etc on. see how well that idea goes down! post more pics when the galv is on the front

cheers,dan

Hey Dan,

That is looking awesome. It is going to give you many hours and years of enjoyment. :beerbang:
Looking forward to seeing it complete and beer flowing.

Looks great Dan. If you need any help test driving it let me know!

more than welcome anytime maxt,find me at brewyourown in kambah if im not sitting next to my FLASH new bar. pm me with your details and il call ya,always lookin for more homebrew buds :icon_cheers:

ram___shackle_brewhaus_050.jpg

ram___shackle_brewhaus_051.jpg

now all i need is a rail for feet to rest on and some barstools-of which ive started makin but more pics of those as they come into fruition.

id like to say a fken huge thanx to colin :beerbang: at brewyourown in kambah-without his tireless help and advice id still be stufffin around with bottles. thanks also to ross :super: from craftbrewer for the sexy gold celli taps. and to all the other little people that helped make this happen.

cheers,dan

Hi danman,

have alook at these nice stools, would match perfectly to your wonderful bar:

stool.jpg

Great looking bar Dan. You certainly have put in a lot of hard work, and it definitely shows. :beerbang: :super:
eric

HA HA HA, those are some fantastic bar stools,made out of manikin legs i assume?

Nice bar dan :beerbang: