Cleaning Fermenter With Napisan

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benny_bjc

Reaction score
Hi,

I thought I might clean my fermenter with napisan because it is not as harsh as bleach and does not produce a chlorine smell.

How much napisan do I use in a 25L fermenter?
How long do I leave the napisan and water in the fermenter?

thanks

beer007 - what ever you use make sure its not the SCENTED napisan, just use the no scent one.
Cheers
Steve

Be very very careful, most are quite heavily scented.
I've been using the Home brand napi treatment plus for a couple of years which smell just like plain soda.

BB

I'm with BoilerBoy - go grab yourself the cheapest no name nappy soak that you can find...Check for scent anyway, but I've found they're generally unscented.

Andy

Unless you're using something else to sanatise, you're still going to have to use bleach. Napisan or sodium percarbonate is to clean dirt off, bleach or some other sanatising solution is to kill bugs.
If you don't use idophor or starsan or any other no rinse sanatisers, you're still going to have to hit the fermenter with bleach after you drain the napisan off.

Some home/generic brands are scented. Open em up in the supermarket , smell them, pick the cheapest PERCARBONATE with no scent.

PERCARBONATE IS A CLEANER use it to CLEAN your gear/fermenters, just like you would dish washing liquid or the like. If you soak overnight or longer it will remove gunk with minimum scrubbing. After CLEANING store the gear/fermenter.