Cider Infections

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neongreen

Reaction score
Hi guys, first post! Been lurking for quite awhile. Please don't bash as I'm still a newbie at all this.

I've been experimenting with brewing my own cider using wine yeast, store bought apple juice, a dash of nutrient, and some dextrose to raise the final percentage to 7%. I do not check with a hydrometre(I can calculate the alcohol percentage using the quantity of suger, an advantage of using store bought juice.). I do wait a week after the bubbling stops before bottling so the fermentation has clearly stopped. The containers stay in my garage with black cloth draped over them. They probably reach a maximum of 10 degrees C, and stay around the 5 degrees mark on average. It often takes 1-2 days for the yeast to kick off at this temperature.

I bulk prime using 8g/L of dextrose(Although I'm going to be using Apple juice to prime with the next batch, 74.7mL per L, with 10.7g/100mL of sugar.

I've recently moved up to using 2 25L jerry cans. I didn't know you could full these to 27 litres but fulled them up with 24L of apple juice. I also use 2x20 foodgrade buckets with 18L of juice.

Before that I did it in 3L containers with airlocks fitted. At this point I am experimenting with what works and such, I know I am not following common practices with a lot of this.