Cascade 'spicy Ghost' Draught

Archie

Hi everyone,
Well I am new to this but have just completed a batch of muntons export pilsner with some specialty grains. But
I have a can of Cascade Spicy ghost draught, and am thinking of adding some extra hops and maybe some type of grain as well.

This is what i am thinking

1.7kg Cascade Spicy Ghost Draught
Dextrose 600g
Maltodextrin 400g
liquid wheat malt extract 500g
Hops
Cluster 12g standard method
Pride Of Ringwood 12g Dry Method

Specialty Grain ???
This is where i am not so sure
Not really sure about the hops to any input would be awesome
Archie
:party:

Also Should i just use the standard yeast pack in the 1.7kg pack or use some Saflager yeast??

Thanks in advance
:super:

G'day Archie, try the SAflager. You will be pleased with the results. I noticed that your last brew was up around the 1.050 SG. Being a new brewer and, I guess wanting to drink your brew as soon as possible, perhaps keep the SG down for a batches. This way your bottles will be ready sooner. With the above recipe you could delete the malt extract and have a lower SG. Nothing wrong with brewing to SG 1.050, but it will take longer compared to 1.035-40. :D

Hey Partial Man,
Thanks for the info, okay i will take the advice and get rid of the Malt extract. Also for the Hops would this be a good method for adding them as above or should i add the Cluster on the heat and simmer for 30 min then add the pride of ringwood and simmer for a further 15 minutes or do you think the way i have will be fine?

Thanks Heaps
Go the Home Brew

Please call me Razz. Partial man makes me feel, well... not like a whole man :D
If you are using hops for flavour then put them in for about 15 mins, for aroma try just steeping them after the boil. Some hops are better for flavour/aroma while others are good for bittering. If you are boiling for 30 mins you may well extract bitterness you don't want. Nothing wrong with dry hopping either.This hobby is one big continous experiment !
John

Haha Hey Razz,
Okay No dramas so I think i will steep the Cluster after the boil for 20 minutes then add to the wort. Then Dry hop the Pride Of ringwood. Do you think this sounds okay. I selected the Pride of ringwood for the Aroma and Flavour, and the Clusters for the Spicy Aroma and bittering. I guess i can only try and find out what its like.

Definately experiment with Dry Hopping but I'd avoid PoR for that.

Agree with Lonte - Pride of Ringwood is a bit harsh for aroma. Try using something a bit softer. Also be aware that by dry-hopping you might get a "grassy" taste while the beer is young - you'll need to leave it a bit longer.

Cheers mate.

okay thanks for the info guys, so instead of dry hopping maybe i should steep the hops sound better

Arch