Bottle Priming -> Fresh Wort Kit Czech Pilsner

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donburke

Reaction score
Hello fellow brewers,

newbie here, fantastic forum, plenty to learn, and am really enjoying this new found hobby/obsession

i am about to put down a fresh wort kit, its the 15 litre st peters brewery czech pilsener, and will be bottling it when done

from what i have read, most people found these kits just a bit watery if made up to the recommended 20 litres, and most of these were kegged

as i will be bottling, the fermentation of the priming sugar in the bottle will increase the alcohol % by a bit, but will it increase flavour intensity ?

i am thinking of making the kit up to around 18 litres to give me a stronger flavour, my previous brews were all made to recommended levels from K & B and have been a bit thin

any experience with this kit is much appreciated

thanks

don

as i will be bottling, the fermentation of the priming sugar in the bottle will increase the alcohol % by a bit, but will it increase flavour intensity ?

Welcome aboard firstly. Great forum indeed, with lots of experienced HB'ers to answer any kind of question.

In terms of priming sugars, it wont have a significant effect on flavour, as its a small amount compared to the amount of already fermented sugars in your beer. Approx 0.5% alc increase from priming in my experience.

You could try priming with malt in lieu of sugar if worried about off flavours, however, now that I keg, I usually only have 6 or so bottles to fill and just use brown or white sugar.

2c.

from what i have read, most people found these kits just a bit watery if made up to the recommended 20 litres, and most of these were kegged