Bottle Exploding After 3 Months

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clemo

Reaction score
Hi there, i was hoping someone could help me out here. Ive been brewing with kits for about 3 years now and never had a bottle exlode on me before. Yet, i go out to the garage and find that one of my bottles has exploded!

Heres the thing....

The beer in that bottle was Tooheys special draught made with 500 grams of raw sugar (not the best but ive got a taste for it).
It brewed at about 25c, and was bottled after 7 days. Fermentation was definatley complete.
I used raw sugar again for the priming sugar and used one of those plastic measurers to make sure the bottles werent over-primed.

Now, ive only heard that the only way bottles explode is if primary fermentation isnt complete, or bottles are over-primed. Does anyone have any ideas as to why this may have happened?

Infection introduced at bottling time can also cause bottles to explode, the infection can potentially consume residual carbohydrates that the yeast could not plus the priming sugar resulting in excessive carbonation.

Hi there, i was hoping someone could help me out here. Ive been brewing with kits for about 3 years now and never had a bottle exlode on me before. Yet, i go out to the garage and find that one of my bottles has exploded!

Heres the thing....

The beer in that bottle was Tooheys special draught made with 500 grams of raw sugar (not the best but ive got a taste for it).
It brewed at about 25c, and was bottled after 7 days. Fermentation was definatley complete.
I used raw sugar again for the priming sugar and used one of those plastic measurers to make sure the bottles werent over-primed.