Another 'first BIAB' help Dr Smurto's Golden Ale

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Update for everyone...

its been sitting in my garage in a spare fridge at 18 degrees since last sunday morning however dropped down to 15 over the last few days. FG is at 1020 I'm going to give the bucket a swirl and try and raise the temp slightly other than that mid next week I will bottle it.

FG should be around 1012 but who knows as its my first try at all grain?

It tastes bloody amazing!

Gravity is down to 1012 now, brew heater belt saved the day :) will be bottling it friday night! Then on to the next one!

im attempting the following recipe I found in this topic in about 30 mins, so no doubt ill have questions as I go. im doing it as a BIAB and its my first time.

how long should I mash for and what temp? or is that at the bottom of the recipe? 66degrees for 60 mins?

Golden Ale
Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (L): 20.0
Total Grain (kg): 4.250
Total Hops (g): 55.00
Original Gravity (OG): 1.047 (°P): 11.7
Final Gravity (FG): 1.012 (°P): 3.1
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 4.62 %
Colour (SRM): 7.9 (EBC): 15.6
Bitterness (IBU): 46.9 (Average - No Chill Adjusted)
Brewhouse Efficiency (%): 70
Boil Time (Minutes): 60
Grain Bill
----------------
2.400 kg Pale Ale Malt (56.47%)
0.800 kg Munich I (18.82%)
0.800 kg Wheat Malt (18.82%)
0.250 kg Caramunich I (5.88%)
Hop Bill
----------------
15.0 g Amarillo Pellet (8.6% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) (0.8 g/L)
20.0 g Amarillo Pellet (8.6% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil) (1 g/L)
20.0 g Amarillo Pellet (8.6% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil) (1 g/L)
Misc Bill
----------------
Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60

I did this recipe as my first BIAB (electric urn) about 3 weeks ago, and the general advice I found suggested a 90 minute mash @ 66 degrees

thanks geech.