All Chinook

balconybrewer

hi all,

i currently have no clean bittering hops and no yeast yet i have the urge to brew so am thinkin of giving this a go tomorrow and dropping it on a yeast cake from another pale ale. i have heaps of chinook from when i was researching LCPA in the early days of AG.

did i remember reading something about chinook being to intense to brew with exculsivly or did i dream it???

any feed back will be appreciated.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 31.41 L
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 10.9 EBC
Estimated IBU: 25.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.50 kg Pale Ale Malt, (Barrett Burston) (5.9 EBC)Grain 91.84 %
0.40 kg Carahell (Weyermann) (25.0 EBC) Grain 8.16 %
10.00 gm Chinook [13.00 %] (Dry Hop 10 days) Hops -
13.00 gm Chinook [13.00 %] (60 min) Hops 18.0 IBU
13.00 gm Chinook [13.00 %] (12 min) Hops 7.5 IBU
10.00 gm Chinook cube hop [13.00 %] (0 min) Hops -
1.00 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs SafAle US05 (DCL Yeast #US-05) Yeast-Ale

Have a search around the forums for the Arrogant Bastard pale ale as it uses all Chinook. I think Les the Weizguy has brewed it.

From craft brewer:

"Use caution when adding to early boil, as grapefruit can dominate".

If you like grapefruit then I don't see a problem :icon_vomit:

TS

I personally don't see early Chinook additions as an issue, but 0 min and dry hop additions,now there's some FLAYVA !
If you think LCPA should really be classified as an English mild, then it'll taste fine. Maybe with only 25 IBU's it won't be that pronounced, but it is a heavy hitting hop.

lol, funny as. :lol:

+1 buttersd70

As chinook and Simcoe are my fav US hop's. I'd rush into an all-chinook ale. :)
I would probably do something like an amber ale over an APA. Just so it has some residual sweetness/malt backing to balance the 'harshness' some people associate w/chinook if you're not that fond of the big balls C hop chinook!

time for a LCPA me thinks!

Ryan, I've done a few APAs with quite a bit more chinook than what you have there, I reckon it will be fine mate.

Ryan,

I've used it in the past, but not for about a year.
I used it for bittering in a number of all grain APAs, but also dry hopped an extract LCPA clone with it, and it turned out just fine.

I'd go for it.

Rob

I don`t grain, but have dry hopped with Chinook in extracts, a beer I bottled on 4/10/08 was dry hopped after 7 days primary with 15g Chinook and 15g Green Bullet !!
{I like hops :D }

staggalee.

I would probably do something like an amber ale over an APA. Just so it has some residual sweetness/malt backing to balance the 'harshness' some people associate w/chinook if you're not that fond of the big balls C hop chinook!
I reckon I might have to brew one of these. Been thinking about an American Amber Ale and I've got some chinook lying around that I really should use up...

one of my more recent apa/ipa's was a mix of cascade and chinook

actually, i just dug the recipe up,

500g pale malt micro-mash
2kg light dried malt
1kg wheat malt
500g dextrose
200g carapils

20g pacific gem @ 60min
20g chinook @ 15min
25g US cascade @ 15min
15g each of chinook, cascade and d-saaz @ whirlpool

23L and fermenting with nottingham @ 16C

Turned out alright, nowhere near as in your face as some people would lead you to belive. next time ill up the chinook to at least 30g @ 15min

From craft brewer:

"Use caution when adding to early boil, as grapefruit can dominate".

If you like grapefruit then I don't see a problem :icon_vomit:

TS

I've seen Ross mention this a few times. Personally I have never had this experience. As mentioned above, too much late in the boil can get very grapefruity, but early in the boil I've never had a problem.

I reckon it should be fine. One thing I will suggest though, have plenty of samples of the fermented wort before adding the dry hops because it may be that the two late additions in the boil give you all the hop flavour/aroma you are after. Its worth knowing this before you throw in the dry hops.

Keen to hear how it goes though, can you post an update in a few weeks?

I've done all chinook, all home grown chinook, added at 30mins, 20 mins and 5 mins. was a bit much for an early drinking, but a bit of time to let things combime and its very easy to drink.

What kind of yeast would people use for an all chinook ale?

Many of the recipes (mostly arrogant bastard clones) I've found around the place use english yeast.

I'd have thought this would be a beer for an american yeast to let the hops come through, but I guess the english yeast could stop the hops being too overpowering.

What have people used and what results have they got?

What style would people say Arrogant Bastard is? I've seen it listed as American Strong Ale, English/Scottish ale, American Pale Ale - or does it not really fit anywhere?

Kev

Kev, I've made plenty of American style hoppy beers using English yeast. Just run them a bit cooler to suppress the esters and make sure you choose one of the more attenuative strains, or adjust the recipe to suit.

As for the style, the BJCP guide puts it in the speciality category. I'm not 100% sure why - it looks a lot like an AIPA to me.

Would S-04 or Nottingham be better for this style of brew?

Kev

Could people have a look at this for me please? What do you think?

Bit of a clean out beer - have a bit of chinook laying around, as well as some brown malt - recipe I've based this off uses biscuit, I have brown - reasonable substitute?

about 19L
OG; 1073
IBU about 91

0.23 kg. Melanoidin Malt
0.45 kg. English Brown Malt
3.4 kg. Dry Light Extract
25 g. Chinook (Pellets, 12.1 %AA) boiled 75 min.
25 g. Chinook (Pellets, 12.1 %AA) boiled 45 min.
19 g. Chinook (Pellets, 12.1 %AA) boiled 2 min.
Yeast : White Labs WLP001 California Ale

I had thought of also adding about 0.1 kg. Weyermann Carafa III - just to increase the malt background - what do you think?

Kev

That looks like a lot of brown malt to me. I did a Brown Ale a while back and was advised to cut back from 300g to 150g on the brown malt. I'm glad I did, because the brown malt seems to have a pretty strong flavour and the resulting beer is pretty good. Brown malt is about twice as dark as biscuit malt from what I can gather too.

Beersmith seems to think that you can substitute with Crystal (around 20L). You could maybe go for 300g crystal and 150g brown malt instead of the biscuit.