16.5L Grainfather sparge water urn as 1 vessel BIAB?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trhr

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a very novice BIAB brewer who has just upgraded from a 19L pot on the stove to a 38L crab pot on a small bbq.
The bbq gas burner is pretty powerful and works great, I have used the 19L pot on the bbq too.
The main reason was to get outside to brew, as my fire alarms kept going off with the steam.

I'm currently getting together some parts to eventually turn the 38L crab pot into an electric biab with re-circulation and a controller.
I also have a Grainfather sparge water heater urn, which has got me thinking.
sparge-water-heater-by-grainfather.jpg

Do you think it is worth turning two of these Grainfather urns into two 1 vessel BIAB?
I would like one to be a mini Grainfather (downward flow), and the other a faux Braumeister (upward flow).
I can buy the urns cheap and I have a metal based business, so I can get my hands on some 304SS Pipe and laser cut the bottom and top to make malt pipes and filters, etc.
I would bypass the thermostat and install an automated controller too. I will use an immersion chiller from grain and grape.
I have done the sums, and the final price will be ~$550 to $600 each (no cost for the SS and fabrication).
The mechanical part will be easy enough (fingers crossed) for me, but I'll probably struggle with the electrics. My sparky and the forum I hope will make it doable.

I live in the inner city in an apartment and I like trying different beers often, so I struggle getting through even a 19L keg.
I have a few 9L kegs and I would like to keep brews to 10 to 15L, so I can keg and/or bottle.
I've done the maths, and this is doable in the 16.5 urn with a sparge.