What's This Flavor

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matho

The Braumiser
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to AHB and Im have just started to drink my first attempt at a partial mash.
I used john palmer's recipe for an English special bitter I had to use perle instead of northern brewer and substituting 1.5Kg LME pale for 2Kg of base malt.
I didn't get a very good boil because of my stove top (2000W electric).
I tried to keep hot side aeration to a minimum.
The beer has this unusual after taste , kind of woody/ earthy (kinda hard to explain)
it gets stronger the warmer the beer is, if I drink it at room temp (12 degrees) then the flavor is stronger that when it is cold (4 degrees), the flavor doesnt make the beer undrinkable.
I was wondering because it is an after taste it is the hops (east kent goldings/perle) or if it is hot side aeration B)

A partial I made with Fuggles had a very Earthy almost Muddy flavour that I attributed to the hops. I've used EKG and not noticed it, haven't tried Perle.

Matho

Perle used to have that same effect on my early Ag brewing palate, still don't like it much, good in the right style though.

Cheers,

Screwy

Real hops can spin you out a little at first,it does take a little getting uesd too.....then it too late ;)

Batz

Wait a second... you said you did a partial mash, but you substituted the 2kg of base grain for 1.5L of LME?

that would make it just an extract beer, as there is no actual mashing going on :p