What Makes "fruity" Pilsiner Fruity?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxymoo

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to beer tasting (sorry if this question is dumb!) ... and until recently i'd never tasted a "fruity" lager before. The ones I've tried now are: Knappstein lager, Mountain Goat Steam ale, Matilda Bay Bohemian, and Arctic Fox Lager. I understand that a traditional bohemian pilsener is meant to not have much esters, and I understand that the interplay between esters and hops-aroma can be very intricate and complex... so I suppose my question would be: are the beers I've listed here considered traditional pilsiners, with the fruityness coming from hops? or do they have an estery profile?

I'm pretty new to beer tasting (sorry if this question is dumb!) ... and until recently i'd never tasted a "fruity" lager before. The ones I've tried now are: Knappstein lager, Mountain Goat Steam ale, Matilda Bay Bohemian, and Arctic Fox Lager. I understand that a traditional bohemian pilsener is meant to not have much esters, and I understand that the interplay between esters and hops-aroma can be very intricate and complex... so I suppose my question would be: are the beers I've listed here considered traditional pilsiners, with the fruityness coming from hops? or do they have an estery profile?

Traditional Pilsners??

Knappstein - Definitely Not
Mountain Goat Steam ALE - not tried it, but i doubt it...not sure why :ph34r:
Matilda Bay Bohemian - not sure, don't think i've tried it.
Arctic Fox Lager - not sure, definitely haven't tried it.

There are many variations of 'Pilsners' available. To be honest, i don't know the stylistic difference between a german pils, a bohemian pils etc....
But, if you want to get a feel for a few good ones, they would surely be:

Pilsner Urquell - Legendary Pilsner