Starting From Scratch!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to the great hobby of home brewing and have made a few batches with my coopers home brew kit, which turned out pretty good.

I am interested in learning how to make beers from barley.

How do I do it and what equipment is required? How long does it take and roughly how much does it cost?

Are there any places or websites that I can source information that explains the process on laymens terms.

Please help me out!!!

Lucas

Plenty of stuff here to go through.
Also tro http://www.howtobrew.com/
there are plenty of all grain brewers in Newcastle, try hooking up with someone to show you the ropes.

How to brew would be a good start for you.

Seeing as your in Newcastle i'd make a point also to go and check out Marks Home Brew. They have some of the equipment you will need for it and also knowledge of local places that sell basically anything else requierd.
Where abouts in Newcastle are you?

n00ch said:
Where abouts in Newcastle are you?
[post="92333"][/post]​

Near Cardiff ... and ive been to marks home brew ... very helpful, but talks alot hehehe .... nice guy though :)

All of the links mentioned are great, and some lead to other great sites.

I recently took the plunge (head first) into all grain brewing and I can say it is worth it. Better beers and more satisfaction. Some people say there is more to do and more to go wrong... but I find it pretty forgiving and rewarding.

In terms of cost, you can spend as much as you want... I'd start with a kettle that can boil a full batch first, as it can be used in all brewing. Mine is a converted Keg. Mash tuns are easy to build out of an esky. Urns make great HLT's.

Also, I find it much cheaper to brew after the gadgets are paid for. Grain is cheap.