Recipe Advice - Choc Vanilla Porter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GNU

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new to home brewing (6 batches) and this is my first time without a kit can and using grains.

Looking for any advice on the following recipe/techniques for this Choc Vanilla Recipe my local helped me throw together

1.7kg Light Liquid Malt Extract
1.7kg Amber Liquid Malt Extract
500g Caramalt
500g Chocolate Malt
Yeast s-04
50g Fuggles Pellets
2 Vanilla Beans

Combine malts and grains with 5L of water and bring to the boil
Hop addtions
60mins @ 36g Fuggles
15mins @ 9g Fuggles
Strain into FV
Top up to 21L
Add Vanillia beans & yeast.
Day 10 add remaining Fuggle (5g) from the packet. What else can I to do with 5g?
Bottle around day 18-21 (no cold crash, as I don't have the resources)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

When you say LME and AME
Do you mean Light Liquid Malt Extract and Amber Liquid Malt Extract or the dry versions?
Also, 11% crystal (caramalt) is a lot, you might want to bring that down a little, possibly 6-8%

I wouldn't be boiling your grains for 60 minutes (or at all for that matter).
You'll probably need to steep them then strain and boil the liquid with the malt.

sp0rk said:
When you say LME and AME
Do you mean Light Liquid Malt Extract and Amber Liquid Malt Extract or the dry versions?
Also, 11% crystal (caramalt) is a lot, you might want to bring that down a little, possibly 6-8%
I'm using Light Liquid Malt Extract and Amber Liquid Malt Extract.

The grain was what the guy in the Local shop recommended, happy to try something else.

gsouth said:
I wouldn't be boiling your grains for 60 minutes (or at all for that matter).
You'll probably need to steep them then strain and boil the liquid with the malt.