Portable Keg Cooler - Bullet Bin

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacknohe

Reaction score
So I had a party coming up in a week, I'm new to kegs, and I needed a quick cheap single portable keg cooler option. I searched around AHB and other websites trying to find a suitable option. Went to the big green shed looking for inspiration... And there she was... A 45L Push "Bullet Bin" for $16. Borrowed an "In Store" measuring tape to check the dimensions internally and figured it was a go. Noticed part of one of the handles was broken and they knocked it down for $10.

IMG_2619.JPG

IMG_2621.JPG

Nice enough gap around the side of the keg to pour ice into. I found a 5kg bag filled up to about 2/3 of the keg height.
IMG_2618.JPG

Found an old unused kids camping map for insulation. Add a couple of spare bungee cords. (mine were slightly too long so tied a knot in them to shorten).
IMG_2623.JPG
IMG_2617.JPG

Drilled a hole through the side for a gas line. Haven't time to get a soda stream bottle or a bulb charger. I'm fairly sure the bulb charger would fit under the lid though. Connected up Gas In QD and Beer out QD going across the keg to keep the ends pointing in the middle.
IMG_2636.JPG

Beer out line draped around the keg and just resting on top of the ice. Was cool enough for pouring.
IMG_2637.JPG

I could have drilled another hole for the tap line. I was running out of time and unsure so I just had poked through the spring door. Worked perfectly. Maybe the type II version could have the beer line and bronco tap connected through the hole I drilled for the gas line if I use a bulb charger.

IMG_2634.JPG