Newbie With Cherry Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tin Shed

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to brewing, probably done half a dozen brews but had a go at a Hoegaarden clone, pilsner etc...
I haven't done a brew for a while now and after the Mrs tried a Kriek a little while ago AND cherries were going cheap I picked up 2.5 kilos of cherrys last week-end and had a go.

I sort of used what I had at home - half the cherries (over a kilo) a Blackrock Whispering Wheat (1.25kgs) plus 1.25kg of 'the right stuff' which was 500 dried malt extract, 500 dex & 250 dried corn syrup. I used S-04 an ale yeast. I dunno about these quantities but have the feeling it might be a tad strong.

I put it on last Sunday and it has been going strong since. I plan to rack it off into another fermenter this week-end and use the rest of the cherries - I take it this is secondary fermentation right???

My question is do I need to add more yeast to get it going again?

Should I wait until this secondary gets it down to around 005 before bottling?

I also have the feeling I am going to have problems getting it out of the fermenter because I didn't use any material over the tap.

Anyway any advice would be good.

Cheers,
Brett

I put it on last Sunday and it has been going strong since. I plan to rack it off into another fermenter this week-end and use the rest of the cherries - I take it this is secondary fermentation right???

My question is do I need to add more yeast to get it going again?

Should I wait until this secondary gets it down to around 005 before bottling?

I also have the feeling I am going to have problems getting it out of the fermenter because I didn't use any material over the tap.

Anyway any advice would be good.

Cheers,
Brett
Brett,
Yes that's secondary alright.