Mp Lpg Reg Doesnt Fit On 45kg Bottle

poompy

HI all,

Was setting up for a brew on sat and was going to connect the reg to a 45kg bottle we have, normally use a 9kg bottle. I could not get the reg through the opening (handle) of the 45kg bottle to be able to screw the reg on. Anyone come across this and have a solution?

Its cheaper for me to use the 45kg bottle rather then the 9kg bottle.

HI all,

Was setting up for a brew on sat and was going to connect the reg to a 45kg bottle we have, normally use a 9kg bottle. I could not get the reg through the opening (handle) of the 45kg bottle to be able to screw the reg on. Anyone come across this and have a solution?

Its cheaper for me to use the 45kg bottle rather then the 9kg bottle.

I had this problem and looked everywhere for an extension to mount the reg outside the guard on the top of the gas bottle. I could not find one any where so I made one from a piece of brass rod photo below.

cheers Altstart
P8090489reg.jpg

thanks guys, guess i will have to get the specs for the reg supplied from beerbelly and see what will work. that brass rod looks nice though.

Has anyone done a price comparison on the 9 compared to the 45kg bottles?

Do you get a discount for buying in bulk? I cant imagine a servo would give any discount. With petrol, you pay the same price per litre if you buy 1L or 70L.

Im sure that I'd get a fair bit of brewing done with a 45Kg bottle.

Gregor

i know i can get my 9 refilled for about $25, my 45 costs me 95. not a huge difference i guess.

Where are you guys sourcing 45kg bottles.

Hmmmmm. Sweet mate, thanks.

what are they worth just out of interest?

ok, i think i might have found some adapters to do the job

Right angled adaptor to convert a POL outlet to 3/8 BSP-LH outlet.
http://www.downundercamping.com.au/product...=585&page=3

Adaptor (straight) to convert a POL outlet to 3/8 BSP-LH outlet.

Adaptor to convert a 3/8 BSP-LH outlet to a POL outlet.

I am not sure about whether or not the straight adaptor would provide enough clearance. will need to get some measurements. I think the right angle one might be more suitable.

What do you think?

i know i can get my 9 refilled for about $25, my 45 costs me 95. not a huge difference i guess.

STRUTH!!! $25 for a 9kg...You can get a 9kg refilled for $14.99 at most servos, just look around.

As for the 45's the local produce store here has KleenHeat cylinders available for pick-up or delivered,
or you can enter into a deal with a gas supplier to deliver / swap the cylinders as I did on the last property
I was on. (there was 2 at the side of the house). Pricing?? don't remember.

ok, i think i might have found some adapters to do the job

Right angled adaptor to convert a POL outlet to 3/8 BSP-LH outlet.

Adaptor (straight) to convert a POL outlet to 3/8 BSP-LH outlet.

Adaptor to convert a 3/8 BSP-LH outlet to a POL outlet.

I am not sure about whether or not the straight adaptor would provide enough clearance. will need to get some measurements. I think the right angle one might be more suitable.

What do you think?

What type of burner are you going to use and are these fittings going to deliver the correct amount of gas.I made the fitting in my first post because I use a NASA and a high pressure reg and I engineered it to not restrict the burner and reg. Not being negative but just a thought.

Cheers Altstart

reg is the medium pressure reg from beerbelly + an italian spiral. didnt think those fittings would have any flow restrictions, will take a closer look.

STRUTH!!! $25 for a 9kg...You can get a 9kg refilled for $14.99 at most servos, just look around.

As for the 45's the local produce store here has KleenHeat cylinders available for pick-up or delivered,
or you can enter into a deal with a gas supplier to deliver / swap the cylinders as I did on the last property
I was on. (there was 2 at the side of the house). Pricing?? don't remember.

Serious? Maybe it depends where your from. I check every servo I visit and the cheapest is still bunnings at $27 swap.

Last time I filled my 9kg I didnt care about price as I was 40 minutes into a boil.
This has happened to me a couple of times now. I guess it wouldnt happpen so often if I had a 45Kg bottle.

Oak flats servo across from the public school is $25. BCF at Warrawong is around $20, also I think the Caltex at Warrawong is also $20

Ive been looking into a 45kg bottle. As my mate get his filled for around $65 :D

Oak flats servo across from the public school is $25. BCF at Warrawong is around $20, also I think the Caltex at Warrawong is also $20

Ive been looking into a 45kg bottle. As my mate get his filled for around $65 :D

Damn that's much cheaper than the best I've found up here in QLD, most places up here refuse to fill them or charge between $28-$34 for a 9kg, most of the swap places run $34-$36..... And I use ~3x9kg/fortnight (glass blowing is a gas hungry hobby!).

$25 at the yandina hardware for a refill - not swap-n-go