Moving From K&k To All Grain

chappy71

Hi Guys, im a relatively new brewer, i have put down 3 brews so far, is it to early for me to move onto all grain or should i keep going with kits?

If you feel ready and you think you've a good handle on the ideas then what is to stop you?

Never too early or too late!

Do you enjoy the beers you brew?

Welcome to the obsession: I'd recommend not running till you can walk, whether you are doing kit n kilo, kits n bits, extract brewing, partial mashes or all grain the fundamental skills you need to acquire are the same: Sanitation, temperature control, bottling and kegging etc etc. Until you have more or less mastered the basics then you could go out and spend lots of money on all grain equipment and still turn out a dud brew which would be disheartening.

If you really want to go on to All Grain then it will be so much easier when basic brewing 'background' techniques have become 'second nature' to you. On the other hand if you are the sort of person who enjoys jumping in at the deep end, then read up as much as possible before you make the leap.

A great resource is John Palmer's How to Brew.

Some people jump straight in, others take their time. Do some reading and see if you have a good understanding of process - there's a lot of info here including a great article towards the end of the wiki articles by Jase. Read palmer, ask questions here if you can't find the answers elsewhere etc.

If you want to, then have a crack. You can always take a step backwards if you realise it's too much but it's more work than anything else: it's not particularly complicated (unless you want to make it so), just time consuming and effort. Personally I enjoy the time and effort spent so to me it's worth it.

If it's what you're into then go for it.

I agree with Bribie in the sense that you do need a good understanding of how fermentation works and I chose to go about it the long way, step by step. However I'd never want to discourage anyone from doing something in a different manner to myself.

@Chappo71 - here's how I did it (a recent shift).

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...=35595&st=0

Chappo no 1 will show you a much better way though I've no doubt. You should be in good hands.

Some people jump straight in, others take their time. Do some reading and see if you have a good understanding of process - there's a lot of info here including a great article towards the end of the wiki articles by Jase. Read palmer, ask questions here if you can't find the answers elsewhere etc.

If you want to, then have a crack. You can always take a step backwards if you realise it's too much but it's more work than anything else: it's not particularly complicated (unless you want to make it so), just time consuming and effort. Personally I enjoy the time and effort spent so to me it's worth it.

If it's what you're into then go for it.

I agree with Bribie in the sense that you do need a good understanding of how fermentation works and I chose to go about it the long way, step by step. However I'd never want to discourage anyone from doing dsomething in a different manner to myself.

@Chappo71 - here's how I did it (a recent shift).

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...=35595&st=0

Chappo no 1 will show you a much better way though I've no doubt. You should be in good hands.

I have done a fair bit of reading watched videos, i have bought the how to brew book, just waiting for it to come. I am a chef and have a good understanding of recipes.

I'm an ex-chef and find that chefs/ex chefs are over represented on this forum. We like making stuff I guess.

Do it mate, go AG!!! ......BUT...... get yourself set up. It will cost you heaps initially - grain mill, burner, reg, pot, BIAB bag, fridge(s) temp controllers etc etc

Gather required equipment early. Even if you stuff a few of your first beers up slightly whilst gathering gear, you are that much closer to the other side. Read heaps of the advice on this site and you will be making the best of beers the world has to offer! Try BIAB - its easy and VERY effective.

Once you see the light there's no going back...we all promise you!!!!!

Do it mate, go AG!!! ......BUT...... get yourself set up. It will cost you heaps initially - grain mill, burner, reg, pot, BIAB bag, fridge(s) temp controllers etc etc

I disagree it costs heaps.

You don't need a fridge and tempmate to control fermentation. In cool times a $20 aquarium heater does the trick. In summer, a water bath or cold towels and fan. Of course the fridge is much easier.

Mill? Get your LHBS to crack it.
Burner? My kitchen stove boils 28L. There is also the electric element option.
Pot? Plenty on ebay or 20L at Big W for cheap. Or find an old urn.

My setup of esky, grain bag, 30L pot, ball valve, tubes, etc was under $100, having said that it took a while to find the bargains.

I have heard of people never brewed a kit just AG straight away.

The only time it is too early is if you either don't have the resources or the know-how.
To be fair there is enough people on here to help you to get through it though abd it isn't hard.
Just prepare your self well and read a little Dont worry about specifics more the equipment and type of beer you are after.
Ales are easier and APAs are most forgiving.

Go for it

I have done a fair bit of reading watched videos, i have bought the how to brew book, just waiting for it to come. I am a chef and have a good understanding of recipes.

Geez Chappo Jr what have I gotta do?

I've PMed ya, invited ya to brew with me, all bar getting a limo to pick ya up?

Seriously if your a chef I know the hours and days you have to work are screwed so how's about you PM when you have a day off and I'll see what I can do? I reckon AG is way easy and concidering you can cook I would go AG but that's just me.

Chappo

geez chappo are you starting your own cult??

Seriously chappo71 - visit an AG brewer and participate in a brew day besides the fun you'll have you feel much more comfortable about the process. That and with some of the good ideas for cheap brew gear in this thread you'll be running in no time.

you dopnt want a cult, you want a religion that way you get tax benefits!

Hi Just wondering if anyone in the brisbane area will be doing an ag brew in the next few days as i want to start doing my own and would like to learn

Geez Chappo Jr what have I gotta do?

I've PMed ya, invited ya to brew with me, all bar getting a limo to pick ya up?

Seriously if your a chef I know the hours and days you have to work are screwed so how's about you PM when you have a day off and I'll see what I can do? I reckon AG is way easy and concidering you can cook I would go AG but that's just me.

Chappo

:huh:

Maybe he's seen those pictures of you Chappo. :lol:

Gavo.

I'd say "go for it".

I did about 6 K&K + bits, and about 6 extract recipes before I did my first AG.
I'm still wondering why I didn't do it earlier.

You'll love being able to design your own recipes, learn what all the various ingredients contribute to your beer, get to grips with all the different mashing regimes, the many hops and what they give you, and last but not least, liquid yeast with all that entails.
As a chef, you'll have this down pat in no time.
And don't forget to respond to chappo's pm. I'm sure the Brisbane brewers will be more than willing to help you. Seeing an AG brew done answers a lot of your questions and doubts.

Wort production is only half, if that, of the equation. Just because a beer is all grain doesn't mean it is a good beer. I've tasted plenty of poorly brewed all-grain worts which have then been poorly fermented. Typically the brewer has tried to brew more than what their equipment would properly allow because they have the stupid idea that anything less than all grain is inferior. The key to good beer is yeast and fermentation.

The trick is to make things easy for yourself. The best place to start is with the gear you have. Take the volume of the largest pot you have and divide it by 8 and this will give you the amount of grain in kgs you can comfortably mash with a mini brew in a bag technique. Use a can kit as a base, especially if you want a bitter style of beer. This will give you a handle on the basic processes. Put your efforts into fermentation, start using liquid yeasts and brew with the seasons. It's less effort for bigger rewards.

PatAbsolute Homebrew

I say go for it... i reckon once you've got an understanding of what comes next and got your space and order set up, there's no reason not to move to the next level.

I did about 5 or 6 kits and bits before doing my first partial. It wasn't really any different to the way i prepared when putting down the kits. I undertook a majority of the same preperation for both.

The only thing stopping me at this stage is getting the equipment together, but it's on the horizon.
Jump in feet first... even if you stuff up the first one, you haven't really lost anything, and you'll probably learn a heap from it.

As i've been told many times,
"Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterward."

Write your reply...