Mitre saw - melbs eastern burbs

mofox1

Wubba lubba dub dub!
My keezer collar build is rapidly approaching... (w00t!)

I will need to do some tidy 45deg cuts on some 140x45mm Tassie Oak. Usually my ol' trusty tenon saw, circular saw and hack saw are enough to get me by... not in this case I think.

So.. I'm looking for someone with a decent mitre-saw who can welcome me into their man-cave and entertain and impress me with their woodworking prowess on some upcoming weekend. I'm in Bayswater, so really anyone on this side of the city is a candidate.

Any takers? I reckon I could supply some refreshments! :)

Sorry, but I've got a bloody big grin on my face imagining anyone cutting a mitre on 140mm Tassie Oak with a tenon saw. ;)

Dont have one myself - but gave my son one for his last birthday.

Hes in mooroolbark - so not far away.

Next time I see him I'll ask he he minds if you and I drop over to do some wood work.

Doesn't your circular saw cut at 45+ degrees? Mine does and I've used it with the fence and set just past 45 degrees to cut accurate mitres. it does need to go just past 45 degrees though to get an accurate fit on the outside face.

I've got a cheap as chips table saw I'm pretty sure can be set to cut mitres. I'll check tomorrow

140 x 45 hard wood, I would be taking it to a local cabinet maker, I used to have an Altendorf, no good to you now though, is the mitre across the width or the depth?

wide eyed and legless said:
140 x 45 hard wood, I would be taking it to a local cabinet maker, I used to have an Altendorf, no good to you now though, is the mitre across the width or the depth?
To save me getting confused about width and depth.... this one:
keezer2a.jpg

Taken from:
http://www.brewersfriend.com/2012/10/16/draft-beer-at-home-keezer-build-with-collar/

Depends. Someone with a decent quality compound sliding saw like festool capex or bosch could do it easily enough. I'd offer to do it at work for you but tyranny of distance forbids.

You don't even need a decent qualtiy one.
I would confidently do it with my trusty old Ozito.

I've got a decent makita one, but am in werribee so probably a bit far away.

Mine was about $400 and well worth the outlay.

Happy to help out if you fancy a drive, but understand if you don't.

JD

Would be happy to help, however am in west footscray. Bought a ryiobi one from Bunnings a few weeks ago, $329 it's a great tool.

Let me know if you get stuck.

pcmfisher said:
You don't even need a decent qualtiy one.
I would confidently do it with my trusty old Ozito.
I like quality as I have access to it and it's a pleasure to use but either way you don't need to seek out cabinet makers with altendorfs to make a 45 deg cut (as much as I'd love to have access to one of those as well).

manticle said:
I like quality as I have access to it and it's a pleasure to use but either way you don't need to seek out cabinet makers with altendorfs to make a 45 deg cut (as much as I'd love to have access to one of those as well).
Yes I agree, you don't need to seek out cabinet makers to make 45 deg cuts.
The same as you don't need a quality mitre saw to make 45 deg cuts just because you like quality, have access to it and it is a pleasure to use.