Maximum alcohol %

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yankoek

Shaken not stirred
Reaction score
Reading some mead recipes they say 22%alcohol is that possible most wineries say 14-15% is great but 18%max and the yeast company says 18%in perfect conditions,my guess is the step feeding is keeping the yeast aerobic but im still a novice trying to understand, in baby steps

Last edited:
Samuel Adams produces their Utopias beer using a yeast strain that ferments to 28% abv. I've had it: no carbonation, more like dessert wine than beer. Excellent, but very expensive.

https://www.inverse.com/article/38219-sam-adams-utopias-ninja-yeast
Using any alcohol-tolerant yeast, one might want to add some of the fermentables in the middle of fermentation, so that the sugar content is not so high it inhibits the yeast.

Even stronger beers have been made by freezing.

Samuel Adams produces their Utopias beer using a yeast strain that ferments to 28% abv. I've had it: no carbonation, more like dessert wine than beer. Excellent, but very expensive.

Using any alcohol-tolerant yeast, one might want to add some of the fermentables in the middle of fermentation, so that the sugar content is not so high it inhibits the yeast.

Nice 1 was told about that yeast but when checked it said 15% plus i thought it should be 18%plus so didn't trust the info,but checked your link,now i hav to try just need to get better temperature control than a blanket and position, worked so far but 2 degrees is a fine gap,I've heard about the freezing but i thought that was a bit like distilling instead of boiling of the alcohol they freeze and remove some wort and keep the alcohol?as i said novice,just trying to make some strong meads and dont want to waste honey,turning it to water.plus my brother would love to make that strength beer.Thanks heaps