Mash Paddle

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hopnsandles

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to this site and I was wondering if Tassie Oak is ok for a mash paddle , I have been brewing for about 20 years but only now I am getting into All Grain . I've been doing Extract for the last 10 to 15 years . I have 2 keggles and a mash tun;with an insulator. 1 Keggle I have made work both as a Lauter and a fermenter . March pump system and burners on the way , can't wait to get it going ! Any advise would be appreciated.
Cheers Darren

Yep, Tassie oak would be fine
Go luck on the new adventure, Dave

I thought so as wood has been used for ages in brewing and has minor antibacterial properties . I'm like a kid with a new toy and can't wait for my first brew Thanks

I have just made one using tassie oak, nice hard wood and works a treat, not sure how I got by without one to be honest...

ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1421885300.456356.jpg

This is my one I made a month or two ago. Tassie oak from Bunnings. Pretty basic but does the job and only took about half an hour to make.

Im not sure what wood i used from bunnings for my first mash paddle but after about 15 brews it cracked apart and I went back to my old BBQ convereted wood paddle.

Think I might grab some Tassie Oak and try that out.

Thanks guys , that paddle looks great . Hers a pic of mine not quite finished , I have a bit more sanding and finishing to do .image.jpg