Good mash paddles/spoons?

Mr. No-Tip

So having broken my second plastic mash spoon in a year, I think its time to look to wood or metal. What do ya'll use, and where to get them? Need to be long and strong.

G'day,

I use a large paint stirrer from Bunnings (looks a bit like a potato masher) cost south of $10. Great for breaking up dough balls and for stirring the mash, if you don't break the surface you will not get any more aeration than a regular spoon.

It's only downfall is that it does not work well for whirlpooling, I use a large plastic spoon for that.

Andrew.

How the hell do you break a plastic paddle/spoon??? My 3yo son has on occasion used mine to play sword fights, and it's still (almost) as good as new.

My old spoon snapped too, I guess it couldn't handle the massive power of my guns when I was stirring...

I hit up the big green shed for a plank of Tasmanian Oak (untreated) and put a few holes in it with a hole saw, roughly cut away a bit of wood to make a handle and got my 3 year old to sand it for me (paid him with chocolate so technically not child slavery), looks pro as.

I use a massive wooden spatula from an Asian discount store. I think it's designed to stir big pots of phô. I've considered drilling holes in it, but CBF as it works great as is. Cost me about $8 in Footscrazy.

wbosher said:
How the hell do you break a plastic paddle/spoon??? ....
When you get a mash thats stuck like concrete because you cruhed too fine or didnt use enough rice hulls and you put your spoon in to try to loosen it all up....Thats how you break a plastic spoon. :)

I bought a commercial sized potato masher from a hospitality shop
It was $15 and works great

Truman said:
When you get a mash thats stuck like concrete because you cruhed too fine or didnt use enough rice hulls and you put your spoon in to try to loosen it all up....Thats how you break a plastic spoon. :)
My one flexes, makes it harder to break I guess...in fact it's bloody near impossible to break.

wbosher said:
My one flexes, makes it harder to break I guess...in fact it's bloody near impossible to break.
Mine broke at the point its alwaus flexed at. :p

Commercial femal chef's spoon (stainless) with a long handle. The males are great for whirlpooling.

Depends a little on the size of your mash.

I just use a large wooden paddle from a catering store. Drilled a few holes in it and done. I've had it for ages now but reckon it only set me back about $10.00.

gallery_21633_866_733440.jpg

That looks like something that we were "disciplined" with as kids.

Rubix said:
I just use a large wooden paddle from a catering store. Drilled a few holes in it and done. I've had it for ages now but reckon it only set me back about $10.00.

You measured that so beautifully. Making the surveyor in me feel happy.
Your wood is giving me wood.

Rubix said:

I'm looking at one of these on ebay at the moment.
How long is it & what size holes did you drill in it?

sp0rk said:
I bought a commercial sized potato masher from a hospitality shop
It was $15 and works great
Where did you get yours? Been looking for one myself, but can't find one long enough.

Crusty said:
I'm looking at one of these on ebay at the moment.
How long is it & what size holes did you drill in it?
Overall it's 915mm and the holes are about 52mm.