Glad Wrap Fermeneter Lid Mega Fermentation!

leonjw

Hi guys,

I've got a mega fermentation on the go. Its exploding out of the glad wrap lid:

picture attached

what do you do normally when this happens? I'm worried about infection... DSC00718.JPG

Any suggestions would be great

take it off, clean up the outside of the fermenter with a bit of sanitiser, put a fresh piece of glad wrap on. The ferment is so active I wouldn't worry much about an infection, but do it in a clean draught free area is always a good precaution.

Happens quite often for me, as per felten's advice, just clean it up sanitary like and replace. :icon_cheers:

Personally I wouldn't touch it and leave the glad wrap where it is, as long as it has not come out under the rubber band yet. Nothing should've come in, just another possible risk of infection if you take it off. The yeast gunk around the neck is no different to the yeast gung inside the fermenter once high Krausen of a "normal" ferment subsides, and you wouldn't clean that off either.

I would just spray the yeast off the sides of the fermenter with plenty of no rinse sanitiser. If however the glad wrap is not completely held by the rubber band anymore, follow Felten's advise, but do it as quick as possible.

Florian

Yep, happens on occasion here too. Either just let it go (there will be a good blanket of CO2 over the beer) or clean up the outside with some sanitiser and reattach the glad wrap. Personally, I now punch a small hole in the glad wrap, and put a plastic plate over the top, and have found that I get less 'blow outs' than before. Mind you, there's no stopping some yeast climbing out of the fermenter....

cheers guys i shall attend the fermenter now :)

WOW...HOLY ****!

Out of curiousity, what yeast did you use? How much yeast or how big was the starter?
What were your ingredients and OG?

"Leon's Vesuvius Ale"

Rendo

Hi guys,

I've got a mega fermentation on the go. Its exploding out of the glad wrap lid:

picture attached

what do you do normally when this happens? I'm worried about infection...View attachment 41904

Any suggestions would be great

take it off, clean up the outside of the fermenter with a bit of sanitiser, put a fresh piece of glad wrap on. The ferment is so active I wouldn't worry much about an infection, but do it in a clean draught free area is always a good precaution.

Exactly this.

The stuff inside the fermenter is active and pretty microbe resistant, gunk outside the fermenter may attract vinegar flies and/or mould if left alone.

No problems cleaning with clean sponge and no-rinse then replacing Glad wrap.

If this happens on a regular basis for your fermenting process it would be advisable to split your batch use two vessels and ferment in each this will negate any chance of infection and the bonus is you wont lose any of your brew to carry over

When it has finished primary rack back to single vessel

speedie

No worries, I checked the glad wrap last night and it looked like it had popped on one side thus leaked out heaps of yeasty goodness....

Cleaned up the sides with no rinse then re-wrapped.

Looks like it has popped again today so I'll leave it to settle down a bit then maybe clean up, top crop (haven't tried this before) then re-wrap once again.

cheers for all the help!

What yeast and what temp are you fermenting at?

US-05 at 15 deg, I'm trying to do a fake lager, pitched onto the yeast cake from a similar beer. was hoping the low temps would slow it up a bit.

If this happens on a regular basis for your fermenting process it would be advisable to split your batch use two vessels and ferment in each this will negate any chance of infection and the bonus is you wont lose any of your brew to carry over

When it has finished primary rack back to single vessel

speedie

Or use a bigger fermenter :)

Yeah I'm using the cheapo bunnings fermenter its a tad small.

I've got about 23L in there compared to my usual 20L so that would be adding to the overflow factor.

seems to have calmed down a bit now so will re-wrap for the last time hopefully.

Us05! Wtf, that can do that! Wow. Care to tell what volume wort in what volume fermenter. Just out of curiosity :)

Edit: dam ur a mind reader man.

yeah he he the pitch rate was rather high!!

That's the first time I've seen any yeast do that in my fermenting fridge.

US-05 at 15 deg, I'm trying to do a fake lager, pitched onto the yeast cake from a similar beer. was hoping the low temps would slow it up a bit.

I pitched onto a US-05 yeast cake yesterday and this morning my fermenter looked almost the same as yours. I looked in the fridge because I couldn't hear the airlock bubbling, and found mess everywhere!
Guessing the yeast has been run off it's feet fermenting a brew and then it's given a whole lot more sugars to convert, OD on sugars! :D
I just cleaned it up with starsan and put the lid back on. It looks to have calmed down a bit now, 24 hours after pitching.

Sounds about right mine is ok now too :) hopefully the crazy ferment is a good sign the beer will be awesome!

WOW thats huge thanks for sharing the photo!
Let us know how it turns out