G'day from another Ipswichian

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WayneCP86

Reaction score
G'day all.

Another from Ipswich here. Been signed up since December but due to account issues have only now been able to enjoy the forum.

I started brewing with a coopers kit in November, just the standard kit extract first, then with some help from the Local homebrew store have gotten a nice little set up with another fermenter, some buckets, syphones, bottle capper for stubbies and even made a mini fermenter thats around 5L out of an old protein container.

Ive since made a Morgans Canadian Light, ginger beer (non alc) for the family, an apple cider and some mead.The reason for going light on the beer is I was never a big beer person due an alcoholic mother and brother who have now passed well before their time, which then caused gave me a bit of an anti issue with it, so if I did drink it was whiskey and only 1. Any way enough bad stuff, I have always loved the smell of beer, like coffee its just magical, but learnt that it was the bitterness that I didnt like, but not giving it a chance held me back, and felt I should start slow and give it a go from the bottom and I felt if I got into the process myself I can do what I like and learn to love it more, which I have. Ive always been around home brewers in the family so had some knowlege about it. So a Canadian light is to give me a low range try on a home brew. So far I like the Canadian Light, easy to drink and fruity, the lagar kit is great too. Bitterness is actually easing for me and becoming a likable experience.