First beer brew general newbieness

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bunneez

Reaction score
Hey, so I'm new to brewing and my only experience is as of this year with cider. So for my first beer brew I'm trying an extract.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/5920/zombie-dust-clone-extract

I bought a new fermenter to my cider one, My research isn't deep but I have read several parts of John Palmer's how to brew pdf / a bunch of youtube.

I've got some different ingredients to the clone's recipe as my local brew shop didn't have some of the recipe's contents they are;

Briess CBW Golden Light Pure Malt Extract
SimCoe instead or Citra.

Some things I'm confused about are the boil / temperature.

So, thinking I needed grain bags I went to buy some but I was advised to boil the steeping grains in a separate pot to the boil pot at 70 - 80 degrees for 20mins then add it to the main boil.

So at the start of my 60 minute boil I should add the grains that have been extracted of juices and stuff in my separate pot (filter out grains) also add the pure malt extract at the start of 60min boil.

With adding the hops SimCoe, do I add them in order as the clone suggests? 1oz at 1min, 1oz at 5min, 1oz at 10min, 1oz at 15...

Is "first wort" when you have finished putting the boil into the fermenter?

That's sorta all I wanna know about the boil but with temperature...

Being in Canberra, it gets kinda cold and I've been writing down the temperature by the area inside my house that I want to let the brew ferment in.

Morning room temperature would range between 7 - 12 with outside temp being 0 - -4

after the gas fire has been on for an hour or so room temp would rise to 17 then later at 19 our fire stays on throughout the day / goes off around 10pm - 11:30pm.