Cornelius Keg Question Urgent

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delboy

Reaction score
it may sound silly but i just want to play it safe

i have just cleaned and got ready one of my cornies for filling all the seals are new and everything seems to be good .how ever i when i was flushing with clean water to rinse i turned it up side down and noticed it had a slow drip from the lid .now the seal is new and the water wasnot under any pressure from gas is this normal ? and do they only give a tight seal once some pressure is in them .
i might just be paranoid as it is my first time using these ?
any ideas would be nice.

also all the lid levers are sound and all the fittings are sound . might just be the norm when the liquid is under no pressure?

delboy

Spot on mate. Think about how the lid seals: gas pressure pushes up under the lid, distorting the rubber seal and making a tighter fit and seal.

If you're worried, try some water in the keg, and pressurise it, just to test. And of course look for any damage to the seal.

delboy said:
it may sound silly but i just want to play it safe

i have just cleaned and got ready one of my cornies for filling all the seals are new and everything seems to be good .how ever i when i was flushing with clean water to rinse i turned it up side down and noticed it had a slow drip from the lid .now the seal is new and the water wasnot under any pressure from gas is this normal ? and do they only give a tight seal once some pressure is in them .
i might just be paranoid as it is my first time using these ?
any ideas would be nice.

also all the lid levers are sound and all the fittings are sound . might just be the norm when the liquid is under no pressure?

delboy
[post="95330"][/post]​