Coopers Draught Kit

Well there you go, about 17 different opinions and ways to do the exact same thing. Remember how we said to keep it simple? :)

You'll find your own way, just try not to take the word of the angry just because they yell their opinions. Some of them are still smarting after their STC-1000 humiliation!

Please do remember to report back on how it all went, all the best.

assuming the above post is supposed to be in this thead...(the first sentence makes me think it's in the wrong topic)..

Carnie, i don't know you from a bar of soap, but it seems to me like your posting that just to stir up stuff again.

Ill also assume your mostly referring to me when you say "smarting about stc humiliation". That's just plain bullshit mate.

Humiliation? pfft. I learn't something new about the wiring of the stc's, i apologised and thanked him for explaining it to me - we all moved on.

This site is about acquiring and sharing knowledge and learning stuff about beer, it's not a contest dude.

Now, on to the topic of the "angry" advice given here.

The only contentious things i read are about how to go about mixing DME successfully, and the idea of using ice to cool it down.

1. FACT - "stirring" DME in hot/boiling water does not make clumping WORSE. It's just plain incorrect.
If the person who posted it thinks it does, they are doing it wrong.
Hot water into a bowl, pour and stir as you go. No clumps/minimal clumps, too easy.

2. With the exception of using boiled and cooled water to actually create the ice, using ice from a shop to cool your beer is a potential for problems. It's been documented previously on AHB as a potential source of infection, as you have no idea where the water came from to make the ice. Won't make you sick, but that doesn't mean it wont contribute to spoiling a beer.

Not guaranteed, but it increases the risk.

Thanks for all the advice guys! Batch is in the fermenter and bubbling away like there's no tomorrow.

Oh and I had some friends over to taste my home made beer for the first time, was a great feeling!

Thanks for all the advice guys! Batch is in the fermenter and bubbling away like there's no tomorrow.

Oh and I had some friends over to taste my home made beer for the first time, was a great feeling!

Awesome feeling isn't it mate!

I remember my first "tasting" with mates. It was middle of summer, BBQ, some tunes blasting out of a crappy little stereo...

Good times...

Yeah, it ended up tasting like a Coopers Red Sparkling actually because it's pretty low carb, pleased with the result, but looking forward to something a little fizzier with the draught I am making!

You're living in a beautiful part of the country Big Nath! Went on a little holiday to Mount Gambier, saw the caves and the sink hole. Had a great time!

Yeah, it ended up tasting like a Coopers Red Sparkling actually because it's pretty low carb, pleased with the result, but looking forward to something a little fizzier with the draught I am making!

You're living in a beautiful part of the country Big Nath! Went on a little holiday to Mount Gambier, saw the caves and the sink hole. Had a great time!

yeah cheers mate, it's not a bad part of the world.

The only real problem here are options for anything. We are starting to get more of the major shops (recently had a mall open up with Masters and BigW) but some of the decisions of the people in power here defy belief sometimes.

Lets build a new mall the other side of town....we already have a mall sitting on a huge block of unused land that we are debating on what to do with.....the current mall has heaps of empty stores, so lets not put the new shops that are coming in the current mall (right in the centre of town) but lets spend all the taxpayers money and open a new mall where the current shops in the current mall will simply relocate to the new one.
Current mall is now a joke and it cost us god knows how much for the privilege.

Despite that, it's a pretty place, it's safe, im lucky enough to have enough employment, but live 500ks from my nearest home brew shop that stocks anything of use.

Summer here rocks, hot during the day but it cools right off overnight. The other 9 months of the year are a different story though <_<

Christ! 500ks! I thought having to hop on the tram to Richmond was bad! I won't be complaining so much next time. :)

Lets just say i really have to think ahead and plan my buying well in advance.

We have young daughter with type 1 diabetes and have to travel every 6 months to the Womens and Childrens Hospital for checkups and meetings with the specialists.
In between that, we have birthdays in Adelaide to attend, or the parents come down here for a holiday or our birthdays and they always pick up a grain order for me and bring with them.
Also, my brewing mate travels to Adelaide or Melbourne fairly often too so he'll grab an order.

Sounds like a nightmare, but the timing actually works out ok.

However, if i was interested in creating those other alcohol beverages we don't talk about here using heaps of dextrose....my local HBS is the beez kneez.
Pity he doesn' do anything at all with AG beer. Well actually he sells "grain" in 500g packs for $7.00 and his hops are (im not kidding here) $5 for 15grams. That's not a misprint. Pissy little tea bag things with 15g of hops and he wants $5 for them.

Bugger that.

Do you have any room to grow hops Big Nath? I'll send you a free rhizome next season if you want one. So far from a HBS, I feel sorry for you. :)

Cheers mate, that's a very nice offer indeed.

Have often thought about growing my own as i reckon the south east corner of SA would be the perfect climate for them.

In fact, there used to be several hop farms in the region (Yahl and Moorak - both 10mins drive from my front door) at the turn of the century. Have looked into it with the local historians and have received some literature about it too. Keep meaning to go for a drive and see if i can find some on the side of the road :lol:

At the moment i don't really have much space for growing my own just yet, but when i do, i might take you up on your offer.

Nath

OK Nath, just let me know if you want some in future, no worries.