Cascade Choc Mahogany Porter Help

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Margrethe

Reaction score
My other half put this kit down on the 22nd, its still bubbling away brightly. Gravity is still dropping, and its been a full week.

There is a *lot* of sediment, and as I said - the airlock is bubbling away, and gravity is dropping-albeit somewhat slowly- it was stable for two days, then dropped again on the third. We expected to be bottling it by now.

We're not sure what to do- do we just leave it go and if we do, how many days should gravity be stable before we bottle?

Complete newbie at beer- so please be gentle!

The SG being stable is an indication of fermentation stopping, but does not necessarily mean it is finished. Here come the questions...

What ingredients went in the fermenter? i.e. obviously the tin but what else.. sugar/dextrose/malt/?

How big was the batch size?

What temperature has it been fermenting at?

Edit: I've gone to bed!

Kit plus Brew Enhancer 2.

Batch is about 23/25 litres.

Its been fermenting at ambient room temp. I'd say around 20-23deg. (We've tried to keep it steady, but it fluctuates- usually when there's no one home!)

Hi,
well done, don't panic, (yes, I know- you weren't anyway) your brew should be quite ok. I've just done something similar in extract, its a tad slow to finish too.
But, as we've heard from many emminent scholars hereabouts, Golden Rule number 0: Stable Gravity. If its still dropping, don't bottle it!
And be patient- what's the rush? Do you want to drink it, or would you rather sweep up sticky, wet, broken glass up off the laundry floor, or _much worse_??? :eek:
BTW, what are the last few measurements? Obviously if its 1.010 or lower and nothing else indicates a continuing ferment, then it should be apples.