Brewing For The Visually Impaired

• Thread starter bindi
  • Start date

B

bindi

On Thursday morning I will be helping a mate teach his 23 year old visually impaired [sees shapes and very little detail] son how to improve his attempts at making a kit beer. He has done two and in his words 'were shockers'. This young man has only been visually impaired less than a year, so he has experience with sight but is only just starting to "feel" his way in a very dark world.

The brews he did were just kits and dex and kit yeast. Apart from the obvious like temp control, hygiene sanitation etc etc which I spoke to him about yesterday, does anyone know what implements, tools etc are out there to help him be more independent and not so reliant on others? I am new to this so any ideas would be very helpful. :unsure:

I bought him a good kit plus 1kg of malt and SafAle US 56 and also some of my EK Goldings hops from home, he now has a way of controlling the temp for brewing which is a GOOD start :)

Bindi,

First take a "well done" for wanting to help.

I would think that your local Royal Blind Society would be helpful as your friend's son will perfoming similar operations to a visually impaired person learning to cook. I assume that they have access to all sorts of gadgets that might be helpfull for brewing

I suspect that the priority will be in providing a safe unclutured working environment so he doesn't trip carrying a fermenter or burn hmself if he does any boiling. So developing a fixed brewing routine and workplace layout for him could help. See if you can do an informal needs assessment on Thursday.

Given the importance of aroma and taste in brewing, it may that he will develop compensating skills over time and turn into a formitable brewer.

T

perhaps layout all the setups in a linier form, Eg, left to right on a bench if possible. Maybe start by explaining where everthing is and talking through what needs to be done.

And well done mate! a great thing your doing! :super:

Bump: the two replys so far have been good with good ideas, but :) HELP :blink:

Top marks Bindi for being so helpful to a young fella who still wants to brew despite difficulties.
Im taking a punt here as i havent done a search yet but maybe worth a search on homebrewadventures.com site .USA site but it covers heaps.There maybe a few links on it that could have positive outcomes.
Personally i reckon it would be a challenge but achievable if enough thought went into it.
Does the young fella wish to do complete brews on his own or maybe have limited help?

Big D

Myself, i wouldn't recommend it. Boil overs can be dangerous and are inevitable. I would say never in the kitchen, outside maybe with plenty of protective clothing.

i would possibly suggest kegs, as they would be fair easier to upkeep than bottles, and less fiddily

- a couple of other suggestions would be water leval indicators so he could gage the water level,

and a talking thermomoteror,

im sure sombody could help him with og readings, and I am pretty sure his taste could become fairly acustom to fg readings

Bindi you are fanastic assest to the brewing community, i congratulate you for taking the time and effort into helping the fellow. This story has put a smile on my face while procrastinating over my unfinished uni work. You deserve many a fine brew, as does your friend.

i would suggest that maybe he sticks to kit brews, due to ease and set up. this will also eliminate alot of issues such as large boiling liquids and the need to move things around frequently.

one issue i thought of was when kegging, i think this would be the best option although could be an issue with setup, maintenance etc i guess bottles are simple ..... grolsch bottles would be a great solution as they are easily resealed and there is no need for a capper, im sure the young fella would be able to use them fairly easily.

Cleaning should be fairly straight forward, a routine could help and alot of soaking seeing that he will not be able to SEE any solids left in the bottle/fermenter etc.

tests such as OG/FG, temp etc... you may be able to source electronic/audible versions of our humble hydrometer and thermoter.

last thing i think would be when bottling/kegging is the fact that he wont be able to know when to stop... incase the solids are unusually high, i guess he could work on only filling a certain number of bottles each time, just in case.

that is all i can think of at the moment but if i think of anything else i will deffinately let you know.

Goodluck with the brewing the young fellow has a great time and becomes as obsessed with making fine beer as the rest of us.

I raise my glass to you guys... cheers,

Pokolbinguy

Gday Bindi.

Quite a challenge but just what I like.

I hope Im not giving you a bunch of info you have already considered but here goes....

Obviously, Kit brewing is the best starting point. I think you need to approach this like any sort of training procedure. This is not something that can be done in one go. It is a set of procedures that will need to be developed over a longer period and will require modifications on the way. But I do think it is worthwhile and I would like to work on it with you if I can.

Although you have set out just trying to help the one person, what you could end up with is a guide or manual for "Beer Brewing for the visually impaired". In Brail obviously, although it could be put onto a CD.

Dangers should be considered but I dont think the risk of burns will put a visually impaired person off attempting this as they cook for themselves afterall and I am just as likely to suffer burns out of my own stupidity.

Treat it as a "project" - If it is treated like any "Project" and you dont get daunted by the prospect, you will achieve it eventually.

Start by listing the steps on paper with enough room for notes. Possibly a page per step

eg ; Sanitisation / Wort preparation / adding dextrose/ mixing / SG readings etc.

Under each heading you need to list all the equipment used / required.
At this point you can identifiy each item that presents an issue for someone who is visually impaired and where an alternative item or procedure is required. Eg Thermometer / Volume of water to be added / Hydrometer.

Then through suggestions from this forum, or the blind associations or trial and error, you can gradually tick off the items until you have a process set out that will enable a visually impaired person to brew their own beer.

I wont continue at this point as I might be barking up the wrong tree, but let me know what you think for starters.

cheers and good luck
ATOMT :party:

Bindi,

Apart from what has already been mentioned..My opinion would be to keep him on Kits, prolly esb 3kg jobs, and get him an auto-off electric kettle and a coffee bodum(plunger) and get him into specialty grains too.

Easy as to steep(like hops) and adds grain freshness..if colour is good in the shapes he 'sees', fermentis yeasts will be easily identified as they're in different colours

Well done Bindi you Muso's have an understanding peoples feelings .

Dont unerestimate what he will be able to achieve.

Be with him and explain every little thing you do dont take anything for granted and after A few lessons I reckon you will be suprised how competent he may becone .

The satisfaction from achieving this will be enourmous.

Pumpy :)

Some ball bearing in the bottom of the keg will slow the volcano boil overs.

Thanks guys :D all good advice, a new project starts tomorrow morning. ;)

can't realy help with sugestions but Good on ya Bindi ...

I'll be thinking of yous tomorrow . Good luck with it I'm sure in time he'll have great beer.

BrissyBrew said:
good luck with tomorrow. Be Safe above all things.
[post="128955"][/post]​

Thank you mate :) I have made some items to help him brew, like dip sticks with notches, BIG pot to do any boils, your temp controler for the fridge..And it goes on <_<
IF :blink: i have time ?? I will take photos :( if I can.

bindi said:
On Thursday morning I will be helping a mate teach his 23 year old visually impaired [sees shapes and very little detail] son how to improve his attempts at making a kit beer.............
[post="128465"][/post]​

How did it go Bindi?

Ive been thinking about it quite a bit since you raised it.

ATOMT

AngelTearsOnMyTongue said:
bindi said:
On Thursday morning I will be helping a mate teach his 23 year old visually impaired [sees shapes and very little detail] son how to improve his attempts at making a kit beer.............
[post="128465"][/post]​

How did it go Bindi?

Ive been thinking about it quite a bit since you raised it.

ATOMT
[post="129346"][/post]​

The brew day went GREAT, two brews put down using kits, malt and good dry yeast, he rang today to say the smell is fantastic and they are going great.
The first hour was spent cleaning all his gear, things he did not know or could not see, like taps and lids still had crap in there, he now knows how to do it himself, I will post a photo of the new brewer soon when I get my new pc. MY PC HAS sh#t itself, getting a new one in the morning, then my laptop died, had to wipe everything and re load...I HATE these things sometimes..And the smiles don't work on this 'one eyed monster'!!
He is joining this site soon and the new Sunshine Coaest Craft Brew Club and will be at our first meeting coming up, likes a beer has no need to drive.

Most of the comments made in this thread have been very positive. However, the visualy impaired develop the other senses to a level that the normal person wont have. ie. Sense of smell, taste, sound and touch.

For example, we normal people can see when a boilover is about to occur, the visually impaired will either hear the difference in boil tempo or be able to feel the surface with a mash paddle etc. Have a listen to your brew next time you do one!

Cleanliness will not be an issue as the sense of smell steps up to a new level, also a good cleaning practice will help. The touch sense will actually feel things on a surface that persons with all senses will not feel. Again, this is something that the visually impaired person will learn over time: A patient teacher will be a great asset during this learning period.

Good on ya Bindi. Just step him through the brewing processes to a level he is comfortable and confident with. If he wants to stop at K & K, fantastic! You have already shown him how he can work these brews to enhance the flavour. If he wants to go all the way to AG then he will have to attune his other senses to proceed through the process safely. Just allow each step to progress at a pace that he is comfortable with and is within his confidence.