Boiling Hops From A Kit

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr.Moonshine

Reaction score
Evening gents,

I was thinking earlier today that I might like to have a bit of experimentation with ageing beers, and so I figured I'd take inspiration from some people I read about in beer and brewer magazine (The millenium ale project), and make and ale my stepdad and myself could drink once a year for 10 years. I figured a scotch ale would be the go seeing as it's more malty, alcoholic and suited to ageing, however I'm currently only brewing partials. Is it possible to boil off the hop flavour AND bitterness from a kit (E.g; coopers lager), or am I better off buying extract or maybe going for my first all grain? I was thinking maybe it was better to avoid the first AG option, seeing as I've got no experience in full AG, but I suppose there may be time before I wanted to start the project to give it a go (wanting to run it from 2010-2020). Is there anyone apart from the millenium ale blokes who's given this a go?

Cheers in advance,

Mr. Moonshine

spending $11 on a coopers kit can to then boil it to buggery doesn't make sense

for the same amount you can get 1.5kg cans of unhopped extract (light,amber,dark,wheat)

as for the 10 year goal... good luck... personally i wouldn't drink 10 yr beer, then again there is no chance of it lasting that long with me :)

back to my English Mild now...

Where do you see yourself being with this hobby in 10 years time? Will you be happy sipping on an extract beer in 2019?

I have read about people doing this, they sugested a high alc, lots of hops and keeping the contact to air to a minimum.
because its a special batch waxing the lids will add to that and help with keeping out the air.