1 vs 2 yeast packs for lagers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

micblair

Reaction score
Was hesitant on doing so, but the cost of 34/70 in NZ at $11 a pack decided to skimp. Pitched at 23C, O2 90 seconds the drop to ~12C o/night. Kicked off within this period, no off flavours (yet) and fermenting away quite happily. Got some reassurance from Saf's FAQ when fermenting at or below 12C on pitching rates. Still border line I guess?

http://www.fermentis.com/brewing/homebrewing/frequently-asked-questions/

Anyone got personal experience on this, especially 'under pitching' vs the commonly used 2 pack approach?

I know palmer always advised again pitching at that high a temp with lagers, he more referred to the first day/s not a few hours so you'll probably be sweet, I've had little experience though so not too sure on the off flavours. It does say however low pitching rates mean more total cell growth, more amino acid synthesis, and therefore my by-products, not too sure what by-products he means specifically though.

Interestingly enough the recommended/ideal temperature on the spec sheet for 34/70 is 12-15C (120g/hl = 12 g/10L), which is still 2 packs contrary to their own advice.

I'm no lager expert, but from what I've read...

1 pack is definitely under pitching for "standard" batch of lager. You pitched warm, though, so the yeast would have multiplied more than if pitched cold. As citizensnips said, it may produce more nasties so I'd do a decent diacetyl rest as that may help to clear up some of the by-products. Also, it seems you have decent temp control so a good lagering period could also help.

Having said all that, once fermentation is complete you might taste it and it'll be great and there will have been nothing to worry about.