Unexplainable Original Gravity Discrepancies

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Punt

Reaction score
Hello, fellow homebrewers.
I have been brewing all-grain for a couple of years now, and i've had a re-occuring problem with just about every batch. I use a refractometer to measure my mash and wort gravity. I have been calibrating it with distilled water at 20c at the start of each brew day for my last couple of brews, but this hasn't made a difference to the problem.
Basically, i'll measure my wort about half way through the boil to check that it's on track. I take a small sample out, cool it for 30 seconds in a dry stainless dish, then take a reading. It is usually exactly what i expect it to be.
I take another reading from the kettle at flame-out, again cooling the sample. This reading is almost always exactly what I WANT my Original Gravity to be. All good so far.
I chill the wort (with an immersion chiller, until my last batch when I changed over to a counterflow chiller) and pump it into the fermenter. I take another sample from the fermenter at pitch temp (20-25c), and it is ALWAYS at least 4 gravity points lower than the reading at flameout. For higher gravity brews, it has been up to 6 or so points lower.
My question is how can I lose 4 or more gravity points between the flameout and the fermenter?
I have tested the fermenter samples with a hydrometer, and they always match the refractometer reading.
I recirculate the wort through the pump and hoses throughout the boil, so its not water in the hoses.
I do cover the kettle after flameout, so I thought maybe it is condensation, but surely there wouldn't be enough condensation to THIN the wort by 4 points...?