Start Of Footy Season Brew

vaanderal

With the leadup to the 2012 footy season coming up, i am looking to plan a brew to celebrate the start of the season.

What do all of you blokes out there like to brew for the start of the season?

Ben

Considering you're a Manly supporter, how about something redonkulously dark and potent to remind you of the fact that Dessy up and left!? :p

Yeah or deliberately make something crap so you can complain about it over and over again!

Haha oh man, I definitely should have foreseen that i would cop some flack for posting this!

Lets say theoretically you didn't care what team i support :p , does anyone actually put down any special brews to celebrate the footy season?

How about a 20% mead, so you can get stuck in and pass out before each game starts - thus not having to watch any of it?

As entertaining as the replies have been so far, anyone actually have a serious reply? :p

To be honest mate during the footy season I drink heaps of different beers. I can't really think of anything specific.

I always seem to remember the first Friday night game but not the second. Also I find getting a bit drunk during the first game helps to make it through the ad-riddled second game!

Golden Ale in anticipation of the Knights taking home the Premiership. ;)

WTF are these teams you are all going on about?

NRL not AFL I think.
In my opinion you could take 1 of 2 options.

1. Aussie Lager. The most consumed beer during the footy season.
2. ESB. Something to warm the heart after the team doesn't do so well but can still be consumed in reasonable quantities.

Drew

As the rare event that it can be attending an AFL match at the MCG in hot weather before the cold weather starts I love enjoying a weizen. Then as the colder weather hits in the space of a few weeks its changes to amber ale then to porter and eventually stout. Back to the wheat beers by the time grand final day arrives.

given the fact most footy teams end up losers at the end of the season i would say some kind of bitter will suit :rolleyes:

Given he supports manly and there's enough bitterness in the club itself, a bitter would be great. Halfway through the glass the beer implodes and someone comes along and pays an awfully large amount of money and purchases it.

Haha excellent. It should be bitter, and salty from all the crying and carrying on... Boohoo we want the NRL to reschedule our games because we made the decision to take one to Gosford...Boohoo our final is at the SFS and our fans don't travel because they're spoiled north shore brats!