Sparkling Ale Secondary Fermentation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hammer

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am still new to home brewing and am still learning.

I recently put into the wort a sparkling ale style beer (1 can tooheys traditional real ale, 1kg brewblend #15 (from brewcraft) and 500g dry xtra light malt).

It is now bubbling away nicely at 18-20C.

My plan was to rack into a secondary after 7 days, leave it in secondary for 7 days or so (until FG achieved) and then bulk prime back into original fermentor & bottle.

My question is, should I bother racking it for secondary fermentation? I am not sure if I need to do this or not. If I do, (or it is recommended,) when should I do it?

Thank you for your time to help.

Hi all,

I am still new to home brewing and am still learning.

I recently put into the wort a sparkling ale style beer (1 can tooheys traditional real ale, 1kg brewblend #15 (from brewcraft) and 500g dry xtra light malt).

It is now bubbling away nicely at 18-20C.

My plan was to rack into a secondary after 7 days, leave it in secondary for 7 days or so (until FG achieved) and then bulk prime back into original fermentor & bottle.

My question is, should I bother racking it for secondary fermentation? I am not sure if I need to do this or not. If I do, (or it is recommended,) when should I do it?

Thank you for your time to help.

Sounds like a good plan to me. I used to rack to secondary when I was bottling. I now keg so dont bother. I would normally rack after fermentation was complete
Cheers
Steve

Racking is an optional step (that I often leave out if I don't have the time, or will) that can be done once the vigorous fermentation had died down i.e. when the bubbling in the airlock becomes slow, like a bubble every few minutes.

Hope this is of some help.

EK.