So My Brew Has Been Fermenting At 26c, A Noob's Tale.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pokedad

Reaction score
I am a total newbie to the world of home brew. I used to help my old man bottle when i was a little fella. That was pretty dodgy ( yellow garbage bin as a fermentor, with a towel over the top of it ), but I always understood the basic concept of homebrew.

Other than that I've just been reading the brew book that came with my kit and on the internet.

So I decided to jump in and get on with it, so I bought a couple of kits and away I went.

I read a little on temperature and how important it was to the process, normally I figured I'd be ok and be around the 20-22c range without extra cooling. EXCEPT for the heatwave we've had for the last 4-5 days starting on the day I made my kits.

Ok so I've made two batches and here they are.

Morgans Canadian Light
1kg Dextrose
Hallertau Finishing Hops ( tea bag thing )
The 5g dry yeast that came with the kit.

And

Cascade Mahogany Porter
Morgan's Lager malt
500g Dextrose
Brew seller - Americian Ale Yeast

So why have I made these brews I hear you ask, probably an odd combo for a starting home brewer.

So the first shop I went too, they guy was not interesting in talking to me or giving any advice so I just bought a Porter kit and a "Grolsch Pack" which contained the canadian, the Hallertau, lager malt. I thought that would be alright as someone else had done the flavour comboing and how wrong could I go ? Well, I was following along with my brew book when it told me to pour 1kg of dextrose in I did, then went AWW CRAP ! I was only supposed to put 400g and the lager malt in to make the Grolsch thing, oh well. I moved on and figured on well watery piss USA beer I shall have and got over it.