Photographic Project - Men and their Mash Paddles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philmud

Reaction score
Hi gents,

I'm currently studying photography at Photography Studies College in Melbourne, and I'd like to take environmental portraits of brewers for one of my folios this semester. If you're not familiar with the term "environmental portrait", it's a portrait that is executed in the subject's usual working/living/playing environment for the purpose of drawing attention to that aspect of their life. So a mechanic in a workshop, a chef in a kitchen - that kind of thing. A working title for the series is "men and their mash paddles" (Though I intend to shoot at least one lady brewer, so the men thing is titular only), and I want to depict the passion and craft that everyone on this forum realises is typical of the brewing community.

So I'm looking for brewers who'd be happy to have a photo (well, several) taken of them in their brewery over the next month or so. It doesn't have to be on a brew-day, although hopefully at least some will coincide. I don't mind a bit of a drive, but hopefully you'll be within 50km of Melbourne. I'd like a variety of breweries to appear in the series, from the very blingy to the very ghetto, but it is the brewer who will be the focus/subject of the photo (that doesn't mean you need to be an oil painting obviously).

The series is primarily for submission as an assignment at PSC, though I won't rule out submission to online and/or print publications, though it's a near certainty that I won't make any money from it.

What's in it for you?

- An opportunity to support the arts and show off your mug/rig.
- High res copies of images from the day, and potentially a professional print (I have to print at least one series this semester - am yet to decide which one).