New member Bucho69 says hello

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bucho69

Reaction score
Hi Aussie Home Brewers - I have been creeping into brewing since I retired two years ago. It all started when my son-in-law lent me a brew kit he had been given as a birthday present, since he was more interested in drinking, than brewing. I started off with a Coopers Pale Ale. He then told me about a beer machine he had seen in Peters of Kensington so after investigating this I decided to buy one.
Great concept, but lousy execution. After several ho-hum brews and a lot of leaking CO2 I eventually threw it in the bin.
Back to the original kit! After trying various brew kits, with varying results, I decided to try stove top brewing. This yielded a reasonable American Pale Ale after about 2 months in the bottle. I started my first all grain brew a few weeks ago, with a recipe from the Speidel Braumeister website for a 10 litre IPA. This is now bottled and I am waiting another three weeks before I crack the first bottle.
I came to the conclusion that my stove top brewing gear wasn't really the best solution, so I have purchased a 50 litre keg, which I am planning to modify for mashing and boiling. Before I cut the top off the keg - I want to do a bit more research on the feasibility of mashing and boiling in a single vessel, and sort out the false bottom, heating element and temperature controller. I have read somewhere that burn on can be a problem with electric elements, when boiling wort, so would welcome any comments on this issue.
I have significantly reduced my beer consumption over the last few years, but still love good beer and brewing seems like a very interesting hobby for a retiree.