How Many People On Ahb Work For The Mining/resources Sector?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_HOME_BREW_WALLACE_

Professional Drunken Yahoo!
Reaction score
G'day,

Just wondering how many AHB'ians do or have worked for the mining sector? The reason i'm asking, is that for the last 12 months i have been applying for jobs that i can do. But all i get are e-mails saying:

"please feel free to check our careers page for further positions"

or

"Thankyou for your enquiry, although you have been unsuccessful this time, we will keep your resume on file and inform you when an opportunity arises"

Re-Location isn't an issue, and I'm a qualified cnc machinist (AKA Fitter and Turner 7 years). Just wondering if anyone has any ideas on what i should/can do (ie. course on ????, apply for HR License - not able to do anything about that till end of September)

Cheers!

_wallace_

Gday Wall,

It's not as easy as it once was due to the ever increasing number of safety gurus straight out of Uni with absolutely no ******* idea about the industry, each new influx of experts introduce more compulsory safety training making it harder for 'cleanskins' to enter the game.
A site that I'm currently working at has an average of 96 hours training before you even get through the gate.

PM me and I might be able to help with some info.

cheers

Dave

Must depend on where you want to work vs skills you bring to the table.
A mate who use to live local closed up his plumbing business and now lives in Mudgee and works in the mines up there. Best move he ever made he reckons.
My cousin did a course in disposals (or whatever the military terminology is) whilst in the army. Got a job in some mine up north blowing things up. Sounded like a dream job at the time, but he's since re joined the army so I guess not.