Hello Everyone, I have been brewing on and off for thirty years. I started mainly with unhopped malt extract. I was happy with the results. I switched

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wickham

Reaction score
Hello Everyone, I have been brewing on and off for thirty years. I started mainly with unhopped malt extract. I was happy with the results. I switched to brew in a bag about eight years ago. I enjoy the whole process of brewing, thinking about what’s next, listening to podcasts and sampling my beers.

Mainly German styles and I enjoy participating in barrel projects with my local Homebrew club as its fun brewing with other club members and doing brews that I wouldn’t normally do.

Hi I am just an extract brewer and have just made my first partial mash brew with a prehopped kit. Have brought myself a rapt tem controller and my brew is doing ok. Hasnt bubbled ot the blow off tube but it is fermenting.Was wondering if it will make a difference not bubbling. Have taken a sample and it is definitley working..and it smells great like real beer. Always had a problem with that nasty yeasty homebrew taste and listening to all the brewers out there I have learnt that it is the temperature not being constant, so I am keeping my fingers crossed that I have solved the problem Cheers Susan

I haven't brewed from a kit for dacades, but I know what you mean about the off flavours. From what I've read on other forums, the quality of kits has improved massively in recent years and it's now possible to brew some really decent beer. Temperature control is definitely a bonus.