Have I killed my cider?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What went wrong?

• Not enough yeast.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Not enough yeast nutrient.

• Not enough sugar.

• Needed more time in primary fermentation.

• A hidden preservative not listed on either the juice or cider.

• Total voters
Reaction score
Sorry about the long post, trying to be specific.
I'm still new at this and making 5 litre batches at a time. The aim was to brew a carbinated sweet cider, but the results kept going dry, or just didn't taste right which wasn't what I wanted.

First attempt was just apple juice, which fermented too dry for my taste. I lost the batch to last summer's heatwave (Penrith average 38 to 45 degrees and no air conditioning)

The 2nd attempt was an apple cider back sweetened with Applestroop (a preservative free Dutch apple spread with the same colour and consistency as malt). It darkened my cider and made it taste sour. I believe one of my mistakes was using the Applestroop as it's sugar component came from Sugarbeets and not cane sugar. It didn't carbonate, but then I didn't prime my bottle either (live and learn).

My 3rd (and latest) attempt was an Apple and Blackcurrant cider using a preservative free blackcurrant syrup.
I also reconsidered the portions of my additives. Since I'm only doing 5L batches I wouldn't need a whole pack of yeast.
Here's what I used:
1x 5L glass bottle
1x Morgan's Sanitizer diluted in a spray bottle of 1L of water as per instructions
1x airlock and bung
1tsp Yeast Nutrient
1tsp Pectinase
1tsp Mangrove Jack Cider Yeast (activated in apple juice)
1cup white sugar
4x 1L cartons of Dewlands Apple juice (the brand they sell at indy greengrocers, preservative free)