Diacetyl Problem

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b_thomas

Reaction score
Well I cracked open another of my first batch of beer and it has a sweet buttery taste. It was a James Squire Amber Ale clone so I bought some today to do a comparison test, and well lets put it this way, the homebrew ended up down the drain and the Amber Ale I'm drinking as I type this.

I think the main fault was using brown sugar for bottle priming, however still being a newbie I'd like to see what other things cause Diacetyl problems and is it something that will go away if I let the rest of the bottles age or should I just drain the lot and use them for my Dunkelweizen (which managed to turn out a treat).

What yeast did you use for your amber ale clone? What was your fermentation temperature/schedule?

Safale S-04, optimum temperature was 18-24C and I have a feeling I was at a minimum at the top end of that range :(
Fermentation had stopped after about 3.5 days. So are you suggesting I cooked my beer?

Diacetyl is most commonly found in beers fermented with lager yeasts. However I think it can also be produced by some bacteria.

Fermenting at that high a temperature (especially with an english ale yeast) can give you a cocktail of mainly unwanted compounds. I'd say likely it isn't diacetyl, but a combination of other things like higher-order alcohols (that taste "hot), esters (fruity flavour compounds), and phenolics (taste like bandaids smell).

Adam's on the money there. Other possibilities are that you racked it too soon, or that there was some oxidation in the fermentation. How long before you racked/bottled it? Any chance it was splashed around a bit?

I bottled about 4 days after I noticed that fermentation had stopped. So about 1 day after taking my final hydrometer reading.