Bottleshop Beer Prices

PistolPatch

Sometimes I really wonder...

Went to the bottleshop the other day for a case of beer (light beer) and realised I'd left my wallet behind. As I always have plenty of shrapnel in my work van I thought I'd just get half a case. Dozen price? $21.50 Carton price? $26.50

How moronic is that?

When I ran pubs/bottle shops (20 yrs ago), we had a single, 6 pack, dozen and case price. What the hell happened to the dozen price?

A bottle shop makes only a dollar or two on a case so why only give us consumers a choice between them making nothing and making a squillion as they do on singles and six packs?

I've never really stopped and thought about this unitl now but what on earth happened to the, 'dozen price?' Why have we all just accepted the 1,6, or 24? More interestingly, why do bottle shops not do the dozen price now?

Personally, I am not 'tight' but I'll either buy 2 or 24. Anywhere in between to me seems like a blatant rip-off.

PP

Cant agree with you more there pistolpatch it doesnt cost them anymore

Sometimes I really wonder...

Went to the bottleshop the other day for a case of beer (light beer) and realised I'd left my wallet behind. As I always have plenty of shrapnel in my work van I thought I'd just get half a case. Dozen price? $21.50 Carton price? $26.50

How moronic is that?

When I ran pubs/bottle shops (20 yrs ago), we had a single, 6 pack, dozen and case price. What the hell happened to the dozen price?

A bottle shop makes only a dollar or two on a case so why only give us consumers a choice between them making nothing and making a squillion as they do on singles and six packs?

I've never really stopped and thought about this unitl now but what on earth happened to the, 'dozen price?' Why have we all just accepted the 1,6, or 24? More interestingly, why do bottle shops not do the dozen price now?

Personally, I am not 'tight' but I'll either buy 2 or 24. Anywhere in between to me seems like a blatant rip-off.

PP

Hi PP,
Maybe just buy a 6 pack of full strength.

I think I'm getting old dicko! On the days I do drink, I like to have a few, certainly can't stop at 3 or 4. If I had the full-strength my standard post length here on AHB would become even longer!

My current aim in life is to brew a great light beer or to get another girlfriend, whichever comes first!

(Had a 3% of Ross's yesterday arvo. Couldn't taste the diff between the full-strength. It was mashed at the higher end of the scale. Pretty impressive. No, very impressive.)

Franko - got any sisters?

I think I'm getting old dicko! On the days I do drink, I like to have a few, certainly can't stop at 3 or 4. If I had the full-strength my standard post length here on AHB would become even longer!

My current aim in life is to brew a great light beer or to get another girlfriend, whichever comes first!

Franko - got any sisters?

:lol: PP,

The mind is now over active.

Just imagine a woman who can make absolutely excellent beer labels and at the same time likes to watch you drink full strength all grain beers.
And as if that is not enough, she will be able to assist you with space management problems by showering each morning with a bubbling fermenter. ;) :unsure:

It' all about volume kick-backs PP. The higher the turn over the bigger the turn over cheque for the month from the brewery, so they do anything to encourage bulk buy. Thats how come Woolies and Coles and others are opening all of these mega swill mega stores, discounts by the dozen, fuel discounts by the dozen etc.

Still the new Choice Liquor at Chancellor Park had XXX Bitter at $33 for a 30 can block the other day about $10 cheaper than bottlo's. And even better, have a monstrous range of importeds especially belgian. Duvel single $6.60 normally $10.45 at Theos. Great range of Wits and Weizen, Bock etc from $2.80 ea. Bought a Black Sheep Ale (North Yorkshire) which was great.

That explains things Screwtop but dicko's post was much more fun! (Screwtop is very funny though. I know - we've even Skyped!)

Do you reckon Screwtop that the kickback is that much? We never had a kickback 20 years ago. Even if they did, wouldn't it make more sense to sell more beer even if you had to cut a carton in half?

Pat (ABV - going up!)

Your looking for a girlfriend PP? Aren't you satisfied with the mountain of problems you have to face brewing AG in a one bedroom apartment!

Geez man, get a grip!

Vlad, I am brewing but my fridge is emptying faster than I can fill it. I've searched for leaks and have found only one obvious one - me!

Sorry Screwtop, can't believe I was actually thinking about women on a brew day! Is there something wrong with me - really worried now. Got the whole brew right though...

P.S. Just stuck the refractometer I got from Ross yesterday in my mouth and I can't read the reading. Does this mean I am over the limit? Am sucking really hard but can't get my eye in the socket thing. Really pissed off as it worked perfectly two hours ago.

off topic - but how did your brew day go today Pat?

I knew there'd be a trick question!

Well after leaving your place, I finally got home at 8 and then Stephen called for a chat. He was 9 hours into what should have been a 6 hour brew day and still hadn't finished! He swore to me that he had only been sampling unfermented wort all day but I was on to him and gently coaxed him to getting off the phone. This took several hours.

Got to bed at 11 and got up at 4:30 this morning. Have I had any food yet? No! Did I get a brew checklist completed before the guys arrived? No! How did the brew go? No worries!

I better not write any more here but evap. rate is under control now. Might write more later in my Chilling Out in a 1 Bedroom Apartment thread as I can't even remember the name of this thread - did I start it?

Bacon & Prawn Pasta now ready - I'm out of here!

Check out the post I made tonight about sticking your refractometer down my throat and it not working!

Pat

(The best thing about being a good typist is that no one can tell that you're pissed!)

EDIT: Don't think I was fooling anyone here. Please excuse all my off-topic drivel!

Even if they did, wouldn't it make more sense to sell more beer even if you had to cut a carton in half?
Now there is something I haven't seen in at least 20 years. Ah those were the days :chug:! I only remember seeing a carton cut in half, whilst I was still at school.

Your delerious man, the Refractometer is not a sex toy.

LOL. I was trying to use the refractometer to see how drunk I was after my marathon brew day. It didn't work!

I wonder if we're going to get into trouble for going so far off topic? Whoops! :unsure:

Just in case, excuse the pun, I'm trying to remember the old beer prices when cases were $20. I think a 6 pack then was about $7.00 and half a carton was $12. I remember the cost into store was about $18.50 and sometimes we'd actually sell cartons as 'lost leaders.' Certainly sold a lot of half cartons though. Ah, the good old days...

LOL. I was trying to use the refractometer to see how drunk I was after my marathon brew day. It didn't work!

I wonder if we're going to get into trouble for going so far off topic? Whoops! :unsure:

Just in case, excuse the pun, I'm trying to remember the old beer prices when cases were $20. I think a 6 pack then was about $7.00 and half a carton was $12. I remember the cost into store was about $18.50 and sometimes we'd actually sell cartons as 'lost leaders.' Certainly sold a lot of half cartons though. Ah, the good old days...

Hi PP,

Just to get back closer to the topic, I recall that quite a few years ago two bottle shop attendants at a hotel south of Adelaide were prosecuted by the hotel owner for selling split cartons of beer at the recommended inflated price as they do, and then ringing the sale of the same as a full carton and pocketing the balance of the money.
Apparently this was going on for quite some time before the scam unfolded.
Might be why a 12 pack is so expensive these days - although I still think greed may be the main cause. :ph34r:

Maybe the divide's got bigger. Either you want to sit down and drink one or two, or you're a homebrewer trying to get enough bottles to bottle out your brew on the weekend :D

Hi there dicko. Some scams certainly went on!

One was where people would drink the case, fill the bottles with water leaving one with half beer and water. They'd take it back complaining about watery beer and get a free replacement case!

Another one required 2 people. One would buy the $20 case with a $50 note and get $30 change. Their accomplice would drive through a few minutes later and pay with a $20 note. When the attendant came back with no change, they'd say, "But I gave you a fifty!" After some argument the accomplice would say that if the guy checked the till he's find a fifty with a phone number scribbled on it. Sure enough, the attendant would find the fifty and give the second bloke $30 change. Net profit equalled a case of beer plus $10!

(Mika, I'm not sure about the siting down and drinking just one or two!)

PP