Megaswill Must Xxxxkm Before It Becomes Boutique.

Brewtus

#beerbackhome
I occurred to me that I see some foriegn Megaswill like Tiger, Singha, Carlings Black Lable presented at resturants, fancy bars and other places like they are some high quality superior beer. It is only foreign megaswill.

How far away from home does a beer need to be before this happens?

Whats the worst case anyone has seen of cheap swill in a flash cup?

Any Aussie nominees?

Need no responses but one...

"Lucky Beer"

My mate paid a good $6-8 at the bottlo for one, he cracked the crown seal and immediately I experienced the foul aroma from the other side of the room. Feral beer, in a Buddha shaped bottle (the only good part) for a ridiculous price. God knows where it's brewed.

I occurred to me that I see some foriegn Megaswill like Tiger, Singha, Carlings Black Lable presented at resturants, fancy bars and other places like they are some high quality superior beer. It is only foreign megaswill.

Any Aussie nominees?

Coopers in London? (F*%&ing pricey too!)

Any Aussie nominees?

i get a laugh out of seeing aussie battlers wandering out of "liquorland" like royalty with a carton of corona or stella on their shoulder...

Fosters is everywhere! :eek:

I saw it in Doha! Even sampled it, jeez I had a headache the next day! :(

C&B

Coopers in London? (F*%&ing pricey too!)

Come to think of it, have also drunk Fosters in an 'Aussie' bar in Munich. (you'd be surprised where these sorts of things pop up..)

It was the only time in the two weeks I was there to have a hangover.... :p

i get a laugh out of seeing aussie battlers wandering out of "liquorland" like royalty with a carton of corona or stella on their shoulder...

Especially when it's brewed locally now! Damned fools!

(Stella took out best Victorian beer at the beer awards)

Hi Danbeer,

Please excuse me for going off topic, but was that an "Aussie theme" bar?

If so, how was it done?

Wally

It had fosters signs, Aussie flags, kangaroo signs, and lots of drunk Germans. :)

'twas was here (the bondi bar)
http://www.homesick.com.au/global/communit...pe/7germany.htm

Aussie themed bars/pubs in england are a different matter again - mostly full of drunk aussie/NZ/SA F*wits drinking snakebites....

Especially when it's brewed locally now! Damned fools!
(Stella took out best Victorian beer at the beer awards)

exactlyl. i actually got hold of a cartonf of becks a little while back - the real deal from germany, not the locally produced ***** :p

Need no responses but one...

"Lucky Beer"

cracked the crown seal and immediately I experienced the foul aroma from the other side of the room.

Feral beer, in a Buddha shaped bottle (the only good part) for a ridiculous price.

God knows where it's brewed.

A.I.B...Aus. Indi. Brewery...Brewtopia(AKA Blowfly beer) Barons, Scharers bottled, Bondi *, et al...and any other NEW boutique beer that comes out in the next week or two

fosters is the only aussie beer i can think of that is mass produced overseas.

apparently (hopefully some Adelaide AHBers can back me up here) boags draught is pretty pricey in SA (specifically Adelaide).

mate of mine from tassie moved over there and couldn't believe how much it was.

personally i want to know what he was doing drinking boags draught.

[edit]

and i agree hughman666.

always enjoy ripping into some of my mates who think they are king **** when they buy a carton of coronas thinking that its the best thing in the world.

its great watching their faces change when you explain to them all they are drinking is dirty cheep mexican piss that isnt even imported, just brewed under license by fosters

Boags Draught is $38 at my local IGA in northern suburbs of Melb. Standard.

Boags premium is nearly $60 tho. Thats a ******* joke..Dont get me wrong i dont mind a stubbie or 3 of it but i could make a better beer and thats saying somthing.

hmm,lucky beer indeed.
you would be lucky if you didnt throw after the first mouthful,
explains the cheeky laughing bastard on the bottle :blink: ...cheers..spog...

Boags Draught is $38 at my local IGA in northern suburbs of Melb. Standard.

Boags premium is nearly $60 tho. Thats a ******* joke..Dont get me wrong i dont mind a stubbie or 3 of it but i could make a better beer and thats saying somthing.

Boag's Draft is a pretty good beer - in my opinion, probably better value for money than Boag's Premium.

As a rule of thumb, you can always make a cheaper beer than you can buy. The cool thing about making your own beer is that you get to hone your skills to the point that you can make a better beer than you can buy *and* you made it (which counts for a fair bit in my house).

Mind you, if you had *no beer* and had to buy some, wouldn't you prefer Boag's to, say, VB?

The breweries charge a market price by definition. Don't forget that when comparing what you make to them.

Boags isnt that bad for a commercial megalager beer, but its not worth spending that much on though.

And i also would rather boags draught over boags premium

hmm,lucky beer indeed.
you would be lucky if you didnt throw after the first mouthful,
explains the cheeky laughing bastard on the bottle :blink: ...cheers..spog...
I bought some lucky beer in Canberra near xmas. It was not something I would sing the praises of , but it was not repulsive or the worst beer ever nor did the smell offend anyone. I guess the batch that went to SA must have been a different batch to say the least. I have no interest in the stuff but I am curious to understand why, what I thought was an average, pretty ordinary beer, has been bagged with a passion. I suspect it is a batch issue.

brewtus,i bought the beer to try when in beechworth last year.and tried 3 out of 6 , i left the remainding 3 in the hotel room. i am no beer judge but i reckon it was pretty ordinary.
i should have said this in my previous post.
not having a go at you,but i should have put more detail into the post,nahh bugga that :p ..cheers...spog...

brewtus,i bought the beer to try when in beechworth last year.and tried 3 out of 6 , i left the remainding 3 in the hotel room. i am no beer judge but i reckon it was pretty ordinary.
i should have said this in my previous post.
not having a go at you,but i should have put more detail into the post,nahh bugga that :p ..cheers...spog...
I passed through Beechworth a few weeks ago and bought 4 x Beechworth Wheat beer and 2 x irsh red ale. I am yet to try them. I did not see any lucky beer.

(to stay on post) I think I only needed to got 20m before the Beechworth beers became boutique....
;)

i bought the lucky beer from 1 of the bottle shops there,buggered if i know which.
getting back to topic on that trip we went to canberra,i had great intensions of visiting the wig and pen,but after driving home realised i had forgoten to (will be back late december).
so 1500 km plus to the wig and pen has to make it a boutique brewery in my book :D..cheers...spog..