Co2 Bottle Filling

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soup

Reaction score
hi guys im new to this and i wanted to know if i can use a helium bottle to fill with co2 (if i get it pressure tested and restamped ) and if so does anyone know where i can get it done near campbelltown nsw im pretty sure its a 3.5 kg if not does anyone know where i can get a cheaper alternative to the $300 one from the brew shops
cheers soup

What sort of He bottle is it? Only asking because the ones we have in our lab have the same reg fitting as our CO2 cylinders, but they are different from the reg I use for my keg setup.

Where did you get it from? Just out of curiosity :)
- Bez

you will struggle to get it filled by anyone other than the bottle owner(BOC, supagas etc etc) ... i had the same problem and mine was a Co2 bottle , fire extinguishers can be refilled by fire people .. gas bottles they generally wont touch , sadly there isnt a really cheap way out of paying bottle rental or buying a my keg on legs bottle except for the fire extinguisher option when it comes to being able to get them filled again ..

i dont imagine getting it tested and restamped would be cheap either ... if the bottle is owned by one of the big players no one is likely to touch it anyway

hi guys
it was a bottle i got from a friend that is a gas and chemical expert (shame he cant fill them)
but he said it would hold the pressure no probs
it is a bit taller and thinner than the kegs on legs bottle with what looks like a 9kg gas fitting
but if i cant fill it theres no point !
so it looks like i might try the fire extinguisher avenue
where abouts can i get one near campbelltown nsw
and does anyone have an idea on price?

cheers soup