Improving The Canadian Blonde

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveHQ

Reaction score
Hello

i have a coopers canadian blonde kit, just wondering if anyone has any good recipes for this kit?

iv'e made it before, i added 500g of white clover honey and 500g of dex and it came out quite good, but i want to try something different this time

should i ditch the packet yeast and go for something different?
what about hops, is there something i could add to give it a lift?
any other suggestion, i'd try anything once ;)

Thanks Dave

hey,

im a newbie and have nothing to add for ya. lol

But im about to put one of these in the barrel so i might hold off and see what people think

Fairly Bland makes it good as a component of a toucan works well with Coopers Pale Ale and extra hops Galaxy and Amarillo to make a good AIPA.

Edit: with US-05 yeast.

How about replacing the honey and dextrose or Brew Enhancer with some Dry Malt Extract (DME)?

1 x Coopers Canadian Blond
1.50 kg of DME

Some woolworths or BigW/K-Marts have DME in their homebrew selection.
If not you will have to go by a homebrew shop.
If you are going through a homebrew shop, maybe add some hops as well?

Maybe 1 gram/litre of Hallertauer or Saaz at 5 minutes for some freshness and a little bit more flavor without making it a lot more bitter.

23 gr of Hallertauer 3 % AA boiling in 3 litres of water and 300 gr of the DME will give about another 3.2 IBUs.

So this will be a total of 16-17 IBUs, so quite low.
It will be a light-coloured easy drinking summer beer.

OG will be about 1.046.

Ferment as cold as you can, say 15-16 for US-05 a good, neutral ale yeast, or if you use a lager yeast aim for maybe 10 degrees to keep it nice and clean.

thanks
Bjorn