Yeastie Boys - Gunnamatta Tea-Leaf IPA clone

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeansBrew

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

So I had Yeastie Boys Gunamatta IPA on tap a couple of months ago and it blew me away, amazing blend of fruity NZ hops with the floral notes from the Earl Grey tea leaves. I'd love to have a go at a clone of this awesome beer.

From Yeastie Boys' website:

Beer geek stuff

Style

India Pale Ale "dry-leafed"

Stats

ABV 6.5%
Bitterness = 52 IBU
Colour = 9 SRM

Malt

Golden Promise Pale Malt, CaraPils, CaraMunich 60, Wheat Malt

Hops

Pacific Jade, Motueka, Pacifica, Southern Cross.

Tea

Earl Grey Blue Flower (t Leaf T)

Yeast

Fermentis US-05

http://www.yeastieboys.co.nz/beer/gunnamatta-ipa/

After a bit of mucking around on BeerSmith, I came up with a tentative recipe. Disclaimer: I am a complete newbie at All Grain Brewing (and Brewsmith for that matter).

--------------------------
Boil Size: 50.95 l
Post Boil Volume: 45.58 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 40.00 l
Bottling Volume: 38.30 l
Estimated OG: 1.068 SG
Estimated Color: 8.1 SRM
Estimated IBU: 54.4 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 76.7 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Amt Name Type %/IBU
11.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 1 89.0 %
0.45 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 2 3.7 %
0.45 kg Caramunich Malt (60.0 SRM) Grain 3 3.7 %
0.45 kg White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) Grain 4 3.7 %
30.00 g Pacific Jade [13.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 20.9 IBUs
20.00 g Southern Cross [13.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 6 13.9 IBUs
13.50 g Pacific Jade [13.00 %] - Boil 45.0 min Hop 7 8.6 IBUs
13.50 g Southern Cross [13.00 %] - Boil 45.0 min Hop 8 8.6 IBUs
10.00 g Motueka [7.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 9 1.4 IBUs
10.00 g Pacifica [5.50 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 10 1.1 IBUs
2.0 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) Yeast 11 -