Whirlpool and flameout hop question

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SnailAle

Reaction score
First up apologies for asking what's probably already here, it's just become one of those things that the more I read the more confused I am.

I'm still very new to brewing and there's just a couple of things that I'm confused by.

Firstly, I've been seeing whirlpool come up a lot in recipes. My question is do I need to do it and if so how.
I brew on a guten, at flame out I connect an immersion chiller and at the moment chuck in a tablet of Irish moss to clear things up 10 minutes before the end of the boil. I use hop pellets in a hop spider too. I thought this was ok, but now I'm wondering whether I need to be whirlpooling as well and if so how when I've got a hop spider and immersion chiller in the mash tun at the same time.

Secondly regarding flameout hops, while reading about whirlpool I came across something I hadn't thought of. I took the term flameout hops at face value, when I cut the power I've been chucking them in and hooking up the immersion chiller. I've since read that I should be dropping my temperature to around 60 deg, putting in flameout hops, holding at that temp for a period then continuing to draw it down with an immersion chiller again.

Any clarification on these questions would be great. I'm thick skinned so cal me an idiot if these are dumb questions [emoji106]

you got a few options here, i assume you have a pump to move the wort to the chiller.

-assuming to DON'T want to chill in your kettle. you could so this but you would need two pumps maybe.

Get a copper pipe make a hook that goes to the bottom (ish) of your boil kettle, connect to the out on your pump.
connect the intake to the out on your kettle.