Well Aged Stout

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobboMC

Reaction score
New brewers often ask how long will my brew last in the bottles.

Last night I cracked open an old glass bottle that a brewer had found during a garage clean-out.
It was a straight K&K Coopers Stout. "In those days all I knew was to add the sugar and ferment it" he said.
The steel top was thouroughly rusted, and the brewers comment was that all he could remember was that it was brewed before his daughter was born. She is 13 and just started high school.

So how does a 14 year-old Coopers Stout taste. Absolutely magnificent!!!!

The low level of carbonation had remained, the stout flavour has smoothed into a generous dark ale
and it's one of the best black beers I've ever had.

Nice :) I have been aging 12 bottles of each of my brews for 3/6 months (6 of each) I am about to crack my first 3 month batch. Maybe I should start putting away 1 bottle from each indefinatly and have a big party in 10 years or something where we open them all up :D

Cool !

Was the bottle a twist top or a crown seal ?

I've been storing a bottle of every batch since I started (which isn't very long, yet.) After one of my friends told me a story about after her father dying, who was a brewer, they found bottles he had stashed away for long time aging and that they tasted great. I'll probably pull a few out every special occasion or toast.

As I've put in previous posts, as long as you keep the light off them, they should not only last, but actually get better over the years.
Recently tried one of my Dark Ales from Dec 1995 which was beaut.
Before I had a bit of a break from brewing, I wasn't even trying them if they were less than 10 months old (I had quite a stockpile, so there was no need).

Cheers