US-05 insanely cloudy

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Linkn

Reaction score
Hi guys - I'm using safale US-05 for the first time with an APA (Coopers extract) and it's insanely cloudy. This is my 5th brew so i'm no expert. It's only day 3 of fermentation so it might drop but thought i'd ask the question - is this normal? I thought US-05 has a high floc (though admittedly that might yet kick in if I understand it right).

Reading up on some other threads suggest using gelatine can help with clarity. Many US sites recommend knox gelatine. I've got Wards edible gelatine in powdered form (not satchels) - can this be used? If so how?

Sorry for the no doubt noob questions. Super fun brewing my own and really want to understand the dynamics.

Thanks in advance
Lincoln

Day 3? Still fermenting.. 05 can linger even at 2 weeks.. Relax, it'll drop in time... Eventually

;)

Give it time, you shouldn't even need gelatine in US-05 if you can give it a few days cold conditioning after ferment is done.

Thanks for the advice - i'll keep an eye on it.

Would love to cold crash but dont have the space or spare fridge (2 kids kinda chew up my fridge (pun intended)) so might look at the gelatin thing perhaps for another brew that's too cloudy (may as well experience all types yeah).

Cheers

US05 is NOT a high flocc yeast, it is powdery as.
Compare it some others like Nottingham and you'll see the difference.

i use us05 almost excusivly its a fantastic yeast if u have shit still on top after 2 weeks give it a swirl it drops if ya beer is cloudy cold crash it with some gelatine finnings .

bRETT

US-05 always drops clear by the time beer has carbed in the bottle, 2 days in the fridge it sticks like glue to the bottom of the bottles.