• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Aussie Home Brewer and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or click here to donate.

Trash And Treasure Sale....money Goes To Ahb....

pokolbinguy

The Pokolbin Brewhaus and Winery.
G'day folks,

Following a recent post by someone (to be honest I have no idea who it was) on AHB who sold I think it was hop rhizomes by using the donate button as payment. I thought maybe we could put together an ongoing "Trash and Treasure" sale where all the profits go to AHB.

So if you have something laying around you just don't need, use or like anymore and think its worth atleast a few cents or more how about donate it to AHB and keep this community going.

How it works:

- You post up the item you are offering to the AHB community in this thread
- Put a value against your item or let the "buyers" choose...maybe auction style
- The "buyer" donates to AHB via the "Paypal - Donate" button at the top of the screen the agreed price, they then send a screen shot or copy of the receipt to the seller
- The "buyer" pays the "seller" the postage costs separately into their bank acc, or can trade, swap beers, brewing gear, something else in lieu of postage costs.
- The "Seller" posts the item to the "Buyer"

The Benefits:

- The "Buyer" gets something for cheap....really for only the postage cost
- The "Seller" gets rid of something they just don't really want, need, like without it costing them anything
- The AHB community as a whole gets to keep this site up and running as Dane can afford to keep the site hosted etc

So why not...might not work but worth a shot, so come on folks what would you like to get rid of and help out AHB at the same time???

Cheers, Pok

So first cab off the rank:

Car CD/MP3 Player

Sony CDX-R3300S
$20.00 to AHB + $11.00 express Postage
Inc all instructions, wiring (incl ISO connectors) and also a FM modulator to run ipod etc through the unit.
Unit in perfect condition, removed by myself and packed back into original box.

sonyCDXR3300S.jpg

More Info

Cheers, Pok

Ok, anybody in Melbourne's SE subs got a use for a 28 inch CRT (old style) TV - working of course
even has a "super woofer" built in (yawn) and remote ?

Free delivery for anywhere from Frankston, Dandenong as far NW as Brighton after hours.

just make a donation and pm a screen capture, first in gets it !!

Like it - maybe a WANTED separate thread and the resultant goods listed here?

Ok, here's another one, maybe more appealing than the last one.

Same deal, free delivery SE subs from Brighton to Frankston inc Dandenong (after hours)
Computer, main box only ( not screen etc)
Pentium4 1.8GHz running Windows XP all ok - just way too slow for a computer geek like me.

NOTE: This will cost you a donation, plus a sixpack of your homebrew, or, if you are 100% keg
a couple of beers before I head off home. :)

This is a really great good-spirited idea.

But can I ask a question - is AHB running at a loss ? I thought the four banners at the top would have more than sufficiently covered the cost of running a largely automated forum. Although I guess the moderators get paid something from that revenue too, so maybe not.

I love the concept, but can we know a little bit more about how things are structured, like is this a not for profit website? If so, it deserves everyone's contribution through events like this, and tshirst sales etc.

But can I ask a question - is AHB running at a loss ? I thought the four banners at the top would have more than sufficiently covered the cost of running a largely automated forum. Although I guess the moderators get paid something from that revenue too, so maybe not.

I love the concept, but can we know a little bit more about how things are structured, like is this a not for profit website? If so, it deserves everyone's contribution through events like this, and tshirst sales etc.

No idea how it really works but I assume that most of the cash comes from the pockets of Dane and the moderation is volunteered I think.....I may be wrong but thats what I assume. It would be best for him to comment personally on this instead of any more "assumptions".

Anyway that can be put in another thread...back to the crux of this....got something to donate?

Oh...also if this takes off we could always change it so that it can be a donation to who ever...breast cancer, some poor bloke on the street, pokolbinguy :p, AHB, local school etc etc etc...people to give money to is limitless.

Pok

But can I ask a question - is AHB running at a loss ? I thought the four banners at the top would have more than sufficiently covered the cost of running a largely automated forum.

It is a great Idea that can only benefit the forum and its members. :icon_offtopic: Without taking this too far off topicm, maybe not at a loss, but servers don't come cheap and need replacing often, internet connections with usable bandwidth for a forum like this don't come cheap either.

I will be watching this thread well for items I may be able to use. :icon_cheers:

Gavo.

It is a great Idea that can only benefit the forum and its members. :icon_offtopic: Without taking this too far off topicm, maybe not at a loss, but servers don't come cheap and need replacing often, internet connections with usable bandwidth for a forum like this don't come cheap either.

I will be watching this thread well for items I may be able to use. :icon_cheers:

Gavo.

Yep, my servers would cost around $1000 per year (not brew related - so no links included)
my ad revenue last year was $600 - leaving $400 to come from somewhere else (my pockets)
So I'm more than happy to help here.
If the donations exceed the costs, I hope those running the site will donate the excess
to worthy charities.

I remember having a chat with Dane at last years Sydney pub crawl, and although it was a bit hazy because we were at the Belgian by then, I do remember the bulk of it. I'm pretty sure that Dane said the site has only become relatively cost nuetral in the past bit... Yes the site sponsors do cover general hosting costs etc etc, but nothing for his time, nor the mods time, they do it for the love of it for the members benefit.

Dane also mentioned that he has had a fair bit of interest for other sponsors, but has chosen to keep the site relatively commercial free for the sake of the general membership. Pretty admirable I reckon, and I think it shows his integrity and will to support the HB community in this country. Lets face it, with 10000+ registered members and thirty odd guests viewing at any time of the day, the number of hits this place gets would command a reasonable price for banner advertising or pop ups if the owner decided to go that way.

So I reckon we're pretty lucky it's how it is, and I don't see an issue with doing this. I'm pretty sure that Dane is the kind of guy that would put any proceeds back into more server space, or other ways to improve the site

Yep, my servers would cost around $1000 per year (not brew related - so no links included)
my ad revenue last year was $600 - leaving $400 to come from somewhere else (my pockets)
So I'm more than happy to help here.
If the donations exceed the costs, I hope those running the site will donate the excess
to worthy charities.

Sure but what did your site deal in, and how many hits per day, and how specific were the advertisers to to the target readership ? AHB has four major advertisers, and everyone speaks of supporting them because of their financial input to AHB, so it makes sense that they are getting a shitload of extra business, and good on them. Personally Im going to start buying through one of them (Ross) even though Im not in the same state, because not only is he a sponsor, but he seems like a really helpful guy who will give his customers the time to advise on stuff etc. And all but one of the other advertisers/sponsors also get the thumbs up quite often. Everyone wins, the shops get more business because they are part of the forum through their ads, and AHB wins because it gets the funds to keep this great invaluable beast alive.

I would have taken a shot in the dark and said that those banners up there would cost the shops between 1500-2000 $ each, thankfully not too many so as to make internet surfiing a shitty, advertisement heavy experience (like porn ads down each side, flashing signs that say 'you are the 1,000,000th visitor, and won an iPOD' etc), but well enough to keep it going for all of us. I was just posing the question, because if it needs support to exist, then its great that members can get behind it. I just hope it's not lining anyone's pockets personally. That would probably change my mind if I was going to donate.

Maybe the moderators should move all these threads to a new place, and not confuse the good idea that the OP is suggesting. Sorry if im offending the site owners and members by airing my uneducated speculations, but its something that I have been thinking about ever since I noticed the 'Donate" button a couple of weeks ago actually first wondering if I should be contributing, then asking myself if it would be tax-deductable LOL)

OK, let's move this conversation out of here.

No postage pickup Bribie Island

Of interest to N Bris members.

5yo Sharp 5.1 with bloody big subwoofer, 5 satellites, remote etc. My big LCD gives all the stereo sound I need. No further use. It's silver not black. Perfect condition. Bought it off a mate to do him a favour but haven't used it much. Didn't bother connecting it after last house move, so little use.

Cost 400, donate 100 to AHB and it's yours. PM for address and availability of times.

BribieG

Edit: I use the donate button at Xmas and paypal a buck a week. Not bignoting, FFS what honestly can you get for a buck.

You can get pretty good hosting for under $200 a year! Don't know why you'd pay any more.

http://www.hostgator.com/shared.shtml

I'm not affiliated, but I do use their service, and am a happy customer.

Don't want to sound like a nark but can this conversation go elsewhere...back to the whole idea of this thread...unless of course you want to "sell" web hosting to AHB for a donation to itself :p

Cheers, Pok

For those paying a dollar here and there to AHB via paypal may want to think twice. I sell alot of items on the interwebs and get paid by paypal. Paypal are making a killing off the fees.

Paypal take .33 cents off a one dollar payment and a % as well. Unless you are on a personal account which I highly doubt AHB is on. Not sure about web 'donations' but I can guess it makes no differance.

A direct credit would be more benificial to AHB than paypal or save up, make less donations but each of more $ value via paypal.

Shit - www.paymate.com is beter. At least the profits are kept in Aussie.

Not stirring anyones pot here, but paypal is taking a chunk out of your donation.